Operation 6 am Yoga: Fail

I started off my Friday morning with a blog world favorite: SIAB

In the blender:

  • Frozen Cherries
  • 1/2 Container 0% Fage Greek Yogurt
  • Handful of Spinach
  • 1 Scoop of Trader Joes Chocolate Whey Protein Powder
  • Splash of Almond Milk

On top:

  • Dusting of Cocoa Powder
  • Sprinkle of Chia Seeds
  • A Spoonful of Homemade Fruit + Nut Granola

P1050475 P1050477

The smoothie was a lot sweeter than the clean up.

P1050474

Yes, that is our kitchen table. It’s so tiny! It works for now, but I can not wait until our kitchen is semi-normal size and I can have a real dining room table.

Lunch

When I broke for lunch I was really craving a good sandwich. I remembered I still had some Southwest Sunshine Burgers that I bought with some coupons that the company send me.

Southwest Burger + Avocado + Red Onion + Cheddar + Light Chipotle Ranch on a Sandwich Thin. Such a good combo! The flavors were bursting, and I definitely enjoyed the Southwest Burger more than the Falafel. I think the key to great Sunshine Burgers is cooking them on the grill or stovetop. You may be saving time by using the microwave, but you are sacrificing flavor + consistency, people!

P1050478

With a juicy side of mango.

P1050481

Yoga

I had been itching to go to an early morning yoga class yesterday morning, but when my alarm went off at 5:15 I laughed and rolled over. Operation 6am Yoga: Fail. Instead I squeezed in a few videos from Polly and found some random, but challenge YouTube videos to get my fix.

Recently I’ve really been wanting to amp up my yoga classes, but with adding in 3 addition triathlon related workouts a week it just hasn’t been possible. By the time I’m free from my triathlon training I’ll be heading to camp, so I think I’ll be waiting until the Fall to really get back into attending class after class during the week.

Dinner

Matt & I purchased our first whole chicken last weekend and I was really excited to do something with it. After poking around on Cooking Light’s website one night last week I stumbled upon this recipe.

I sent Matt out in the rain to make us some grilled chicken! I imagined the chicken would take longer than it actually did, so around 4 I found myself picking at it + wishing it was dinner time.

I roasted some potatoes + carrots and at 4:30 declared it dinner time on a Friday night. Sometimes it’s okay to eat at the Early Bird Special time, right?

P1050485

After dinner I headed to night 1 of my coaching class. The course which was supposed to last until 10:30 got over at 8. And the best part is although were supposed to be in the classroom from 8-8 both Saturday & Sunday he is letting us out both days before one!

Dessert + Movie

We celebrated my early dismissal with a Red Box flick + some Blue Bunny ice cream.

P1050489

Have you ever had Blue Bunny ice cream? I hadn’t until I moved to Iowa. Did you know it’s made in Le Mars, Iowa – the ice cream capital of the world! It is so appropriate that I call Iowa home.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Operation 6 am Yoga: Fail

  1. Blue Bunny ice cream IS really good!! I haven’t had it in ages though.
    That grilled chicken sounds delicious!!!
    And that totally reminded me that I have 2 mangoes in the fridge that I totally forgot about… yay!

  2. I’ve never tried blue bunny. I’ve been curious to because they have a few flavors I wouldn’t mind eating, but they aren’t around anywhere in New England

  3. Bluebell icecream rules the roost here in Texas. It’s made about 2 hours from where we live and my husband toured the facilities once. They got to taste anything they wanted! I don’t think they sell Blue Bunny here 😦

  4. I love Blue Bunny ice cream, but Edy’s will always have my heart. 🙂

  5. Yep, LeMars in the ice cream capital of the world…just another plus you get living here in IA:) I have yet to try my southwest burgers, but yours looks yummy!

  6. I’ve never seen that brand of ice cream before.

    SIAB sounds so good – need to start keeping some frozen fruit in the house to make one up sometime. I’ve also never added greens to a smoothie. Thanks for the recipe!

  7. Y0u must try early morning yoga, it sets the mood of the day. I wish my gym had more classes. I’ve never tried Blue Bunny…anything with PB and chocolate catches my eye!

  8. Ha, ha – I’ve had lots of Blue Bunny ice cream. In fact, my hometown is Le Mars, IA! Blue Bunny ice cream is most definitely our claim to fame :-).

  9. When I went to Morningside (in Sioux City), I knew quite a few people from LeMars. One girl I knew had worked at Blue Bunny and said they also make the HyVee house brand of ice cream there!

  10. Thanks for the comment, Kate! I think you’ll LOVE YogaGlow. My favorite teacher (by far) is Jo Tastula. She has the best voice.

    I love your blog. The oatmeal in a tree made me laugh out loud (totally something my husband would do to make the shot more interesting). Adding you to my blog roll now! xo

  11. foodlovingpolarbear

    I didn’t know that Iowa is the ice cream capital 😀

    Haha, if my alarm would go off at 5.15 and I was supposed to do yoga I would do the same as you did!

  12. I have never tried Blue Bunny! Want to. I normally get up at 5:15 to workout (which is usually doable because I tend to be in bed by 9…) but yesterday I decided to stay in bed until 9AM reading Twilight. Such a good idea. 🙂

  13. I’ve never tried Blue Bunny but I highly suggest everyone try Tillamook Ice Cream if they get a chance. It’s the BEST. So delicious and creamy…. 🙂

  14. I used to loooove 6:15 yoga, after I got there. Needless to say I am now a “snoozer” and don’t get my morning yoga in anymore!

  15. Kate

    bluebunny ice cream is delish! it is no ben and jerry’s but will do the trick 🙂

    i also agree with the sunshine burgers on the stovetop. so much better that way. i haven’t had the southwest version yet. i am mildly obessed with the falfel so the southwest one must be freaking amazing.

  16. Hai

    nicely done and yes, the fudge ice cream!! GREATTT CHOICE!

  17. I like bluebunny ice cream but my favorite is probably Bluebell!

  18. that mango looks so good! the last mango i cut up was not ripe at all so it is pretty dry. of course i am eating it anyway 🙂 but yours looks so much better!!

  19. zoe

    hi kate! new to your blog 🙂 thought i’d share this with you…

    LOVE yoga. do it at least a few times a week in addition to my running. feels great to stretch it out! i saw you said you were looking to am up your yoga routine…have you heard of http://yogatoday.com? or yogadownload.com? something tells me you have buuut yoga today offers a free, usually hour long class every week! plus if you sign up (for free!) you gain access to all the previous free classes. it’s pretty awesome and pretty challenging. check them out if you haven’t :)!

Leave a Reply

