Pursuit of Margaritas

Are you getting tired of me eating the same breakfast every day in a row yet? Yesterday I was thinking about how my breakfasts have been lacking diversity lately. I sense a Spice Up Your Breakfast Challenge coming on!

P1050395

  • 1 c Fiber One Caramel Delight
  • 1/2 c Almond Milk
  • Strawberries

Lunch

Although we do partake in a lot of backyard activities that involve food (grilling, photographing & eating), I do appreciate all the non-food things we do in our green space.

My two favorite activities being letting the dogs run free + practicing some outdoor yoga.

P1040884  P1040275

Today we stuck solely to food photography.

P1050452

A toasted sandwich thing layered with an egg, some spinach + some Monterrey Jack and some juicy pineapple.

P1050453 

What is your favorite thing to do in your green space? Or if you don’t have a backyard, what are you favorite outdoor activities?

Snack

For an afternoon snack I enjoyed 1.5 servings of crumbs from the bottom of the Stacy’s bag.

P1050450

Fiesta

After work I had plans to head to yoga class and then head to a Mexican Restaurant to celebrate the holiday devoted to all things chips + salsa. When I arrived all yoga-ed  up and ready to go, I found a sign on the door that stated that yoga was cancelled.

I considered going for a walk around the lake with some ladies from class, but ultimately I decided to not waste any time in my pursuit of frozen margaritas, so to El Dorado we headed.

P1050457

Chips + Salsa

P1050462

P1050463

Numero Dos

P1050467 

Choripollo: Chicken breast & chorizo covered in cheese sauce. Served with rice, beans & tortilla shells.

P1050468

Not a veggie in sight, but it was so tasty! I ended up eating a few bites of the chicken and beans before I had to relinquish my fork. I hardly had any room after all the chips and salsa + frozen cocktails!

I recently read that most Americans eat somewhere near 30% more calories on holidays. Do you think you fall into this category? I definitely do!

Do you chalk up missed workout days as free passes or do you step it up later that week?

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Pursuit of Margaritas

  1. I definitely eat more on weekends/holidays but I also try to offset it by exercising. For example, we did the margaritas/chips/chicken fajitas thing last night, but I did weights in the morning and took a 4.5 mile walk to get there. …and rarely I’ll take an unplanned day off and just use a “free pass” but most times I’ll step it up later in the week.

  2. I usually step it up later in the week if I miss a workout…it just makes me feel better. As for the holidays…I definitely think I eat more but I am not sure I eat 30% more. But my husband DEFINITELY does!!! haha!

  3. I would say I eat more on a holiday if I feel entitled to it. Usually, my rule at holiday feasts are pick 3 foods and load up on them and then alone. That way, I don’t get stuffed from everything and the leftovers are “like new”. But if everything looks good or it’s my birthday or something, I’m going to have that extra slice of cake πŸ˜‰

  4. When I’m with family I tend to eat more on holidays. When it is just me and Hunni we still cook the same and eat the same. My Cinco de Mayo was really boring.

    My favorite outdoor activities are walking and biking at the trail. We don’t have a back yard yet and I desperately want one.

  5. I definitely eat too much on holidays. BUT I subscribe to the 90/10 rule. 90% of the time I eat healthy and 10% of the time I splurge!

    Your yard looks really nice! In the summer time I love sitting outside with the BBQ going, a bottle of wine, chatting with friends. We live next to a school and can hear baseball games and kids playing.

  6. yes yes yes for outdoor yoga!!! im so happy for the warm weather!

  7. I’m seriously loving the thought of a breakfast challenge! Woo! I’m all over that!

    Sounds like you celebrated JUST perfectly πŸ™‚

  8. hey kate! sorry to be MIA. just caught up on a slew of your posts. thanks for the links to some new, inspiring blogs to check out.

    LOVE the photo of the pooches running! how cute.

    your mexican feast looked right up my alley! love those colorful chips.

  9. Two of my favorite things to do on my lawn: outdoor yoga (wahoo!) and sit with a book and a glass of iced tea. Hooray for warm weather!

  10. Haha! I love how you pursued margaritas instead. Sometimes those can be more calming than yoga. πŸ˜€

  11. Ahhh – wish I ate as well as you!! And FREE PASSES!!!

  12. foodlovingpolarbear

    I would love to do outside yoga, can’t wait for summer!

    DELICIOUS looking dishes and I definitely do eat a LOT more on holiday πŸ˜€

  13. peanutbutterfingers

    oh i’d say i eat 90% more calories on the holidays! i am like a cookie/pie/cake monster! πŸ˜€

  14. Hey, when breakfast looks that good, who cares how often you have it in a row? πŸ™‚ And I am definitely guilty of eating more on vacation. My brain treats it like a reprieve from counting calories, when it totally shouldn’t be.

  15. I eat like 5x more on holidays. but I don’t let it bother me b/c those occassions are just a few times a year. I’m allowed to indulge a few times a year I’d say πŸ™‚

  16. Kate

    i eat more on holidays too. i try to work out on those days just so i don’t feel too guilty for doings so.

    i love cinco de mayo feistas. this was the first year i didn’t enjoy a margarita 😦 homework called. sooooo glad the semester is almost over.

  17. I love reading posts about Cinco De Mayo because I didn’t celebrate it *at all* :/ Which is a shame because Mexican food is definitely becoming my favorite cuisine…

    I must admit that I definitely DO fall into the category of eating more on holidays (except for Cinco de Mayo, haha). But I tend to use almost every holiday…even Mother’s Day…as some sort of excuse to overeat. I think it’s because that’s how I’ve thought of holidays ever since I was a kid (eating tends to be a “sport” in my extended-family!). To be honest, it doesn’t really bother me. I think that overeating is a pretty normal event, and in the long run I don’t believe that it will affect my health. So, bring on dessert! πŸ˜›

  18. Um…now I know why I don’t do yoga…I haven’t done that “pose” since gymnastics in school..and I don’t plan to go back πŸ˜‰ You go girl πŸ™‚

  19. fattiefatterton

    I arrived late at Yoga once and was shut out of the class, as it was already too full. I literally cried. When you need Yoga, you NEED Yoga.

Leave a Reply

