In the tree

For some reason I woke up Sunday feeling rushed, rushed, rushed. I just didn’t seem to have enough time to fit in everything that I need to do! Hence the crazy photos of my oatmeal in a tree in our backyard – I delegated my breakfast photography to Matt.

In the tree:

  • 1/4 c Oatmeal
  • Brown Sugar
  • Butterscotch Chips
  • tbsp PB&Co. Bee’s Knees

P1050379

P1050380

Mix + Match

After breakfast I ran around and had just enough time to swing by the Co-op to pick up a Mix + Match lunch before I had to head to work to teach a recertification class.

P1050381 

P1050384 

Bike/Run

I had planned on heading straight to Aubrey’s house after work to get in a bike ride + run, so I packed a pre-ride snack and a post-run coconut water.

P1050385

We set out to do just under a 10 mile bike ride and then tag on a mile run at the end. And my first brick went amazingly! I’m still getting used to being on a bike and learning the ropes of shifting, but I find it so freeing. Plus training for a triathlon makes me feel hardcore in a way that yoga doesn’t.

I’m the first person to admit that I have a bad attitude when it comes to running. For some reason I have a love/hate relationship with it. I let my negative thoughts get the best of me and I end up quitting. So on Sunday my goal was to not stop and walk during the mile. I used one of Caitlin’s mantra by telling myself you can do anything for 5 minutes I was able to run for 5 minutes, and then for another 5. Success!

Do you have any personal mottos or mantras that you repeat when the going gets rough?

Brinner

After being outside for an hour the last thing I wanted to do was head the grocery store. So, we had breakfast for dinner.

P1050386

P1050389

It was like having an old fashioned Sunday brunch for dinner.

Popcorn

Post dinner I devoured a bag of Kettle Corn. I love popcorn and I eat it often, but it is not photogenic. Sometimes I just give up and don’t even both taking photos. Do any other bloggers encounter foods like that?

 

Monday

I woke up bright + early on Monday morning and headed into work at 5:45. I had planned to head home after work around 8:30 and crawl back into bed with Matt, but when I looked at my To-do list I realized that wasn’t an option. Since I had to be back at work at 10:45 I decided to swing by Starbucks to grab something to eat so I could stay on that side of town to run errands.

Breakfast: Starbucks Style

Tall Non-fat Dark Cherry Mocha + Reduced-Fat Turkey Bacon with Eggs Whites on English Muffin

A month or so ago Gina had talked about how pleased she was with the packaged snack offerings that Starbucks had brought into their shops and it seems like the health forward choices have made their way into their food offerings as well.

I love that I can go to a major American chain and find egg whites as the standard instead of having to beg for them as a substitution. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind or refrain from asking for ‘wheat this’ or ‘substitute that’ when I go out – but it is refreshing that health-forward choices are becoming the norm on the places like Starbucks.

What are your thoughts on everyone’s second favorite (sorry, we all know that Dunkin reigns supreme at #1) coffee shop?

Lunch

P1050395

After running errands galore I went on a leisurely neighborhood stroll and then I rushed home and threw together the quickest lunch known to man.

  • 1 c Fiber One Caramel Delight
  • 1/2 c Silk Almond Milk
  • Fresh, bright Strawberries

P1050396 

Dinner

P1050399

P1050402 

Avocado Orange Salsa

  • 1/2 Orange [peeled, segmented, sliced]
  • 1/2 Avocado [diced]
  • 1/4 Red Onion

P1050403

Snacks + Yoga

After dinner I headed to yoga and did a modified practice. I was feeling pretty tight in my back prior to my workout on Sunday and I think biking + running pushed it from mild discomfort to pure pain. I’m glad I went because I was able to get a lot of stretching in and I’m feeling 100 times better today.

An unpictured Braeburn + chocolate from Brussels:

P1050413

Yoga Pose May

Yoga Pose May has officially kicked off! The first 8 poses are classic postures that you will see in most yoga classes. Take some time this week to perfect the classic poses as shown below by some fabulous bloggers. Next week will focus on Inversions + Backbends.

 

WARRIOR I

Dancing Through Life

All In The Family

Daily Nibbles

Duchess of Fork

Box Run Eat

WARRIOR II

Live Laugh Eat

Food Fit & Fun

Pamplemousse & More

WARRIOR III

Marathon Val

I Have Two Feet and Ten Toes

It All Changes

Were Just Dandy

Savvy Eats

CHILD

Appalachian Appetites

Heather’s Dish

Always Joy

Steff Says

DOWNWARD DOG

Cook Vegan Lover

The Bright Side

Eating to Run

Eat Run Read

CAT
Mandy’s Meals

Fuel Her Up

Suburban Yogini

COW

SuperSana

Just Jay Tomboy

She Wears A Red Sox Cap

PLANK

Up Fit Creek

Love Healthy Living

Eating Bird Food

Culinary Bliss

 

Namaste!

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “In the tree

  1. I love that motto, I may even use it sometime myself 🙂

    Personally, my fave is “Unless You Puke, Faint or Die, Keep Going!” from our dear friend, Jillian.

  2. My favorite coffee was Seattle’s Best Coffee.

    As for the photos…sometimes I take really awful pics of my food. It’s frustrating!

  3. I have a mantra I like to chant (in my head) when I’m having a rough time. Mine is “eyes on the prize.” The “prize” is always changing 🙂

    I actually don’t like coffee! I just never have had a taste for it for some reason. I was even a barista for a year and a half!

  4. My favorite coffee is my own! I think coffee shop coffee is way too strong!!! 🙂

  5. That salsa looks delicious!!! Yum!
    Haha love LOVE the oats in the tree!!! So cute 🙂

    I actually like Starbucks over DD but there are more Starbucks than DD where I live.

  6. Kate

    i am super pleased to see new things that the bucks is offering. it makes me think that someone somewhere is “getting it.” the coffee shop i work at, not so much. i don’t care if a muffin the size of your face it lowfat, it still isn’t a healthy option. loud sigh.

  7. I’ve never thought about putting avocado and orange together, but I bet it is wonderful! I have recently become obsessed with the avocado and mango combination.

  8. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear

    That avocado-orange salsa with salmon looks so fresh! 🙂

  9. My favorite mantra… there are so many good ones but one of my favorites is yelling (okay, encouragingly saying) to myself, “YOU ARE SO MUCH STRONGER THAN YOU THINK!” I can´t remember where I first heard this, but I love it. the 5 minutes one is great too.

    I am a Starbucks and Coffee Bean addict, as I come most recently from Southern Cali, but I used to live on the East Coast and man, I miss Dunkin. I kind of would be okay with eating a donut every day for the rest of my life. They just aren´t as plentiful (or as delicious) on the West Coast. Although Starbucks is probably safer for me–their pastries are good but so darn expensive, whereas if I went to DD for my coffee fix, my donut a day fantasy would become reality. : )

  10. I have a love-hate relationship with running too. I go through phases where I love it and feel energized, then other times it feels like drudgery and my legs feel heavy. I usually don’t run with music, but I might give it a try for an energy boost! My mantra: “You can do it.”

  11. Maybe it’s because I’m about to eat lunch and am really hungry but that brinner looks to DIE for. I could eat it right now.

  12. I love Brinner and thats exactly what I call it too!!!

    I am also a pop corn lover. I tried to take pics of it once – I feel ya.

  13. Hi Kate!

    Thanks for linking to my site for the May yoga challenge (I will be posting today). It seems the link to my site is not working…just in case you need it, here is my url:

    http://www.mandysmeals.com/

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

