My Yogic Quest

 

Sorry I am posting so late today. I have been reading blogs and dealing with my email for hours! Certainly not a terrible way to waste time on a Tuesday afternoon!

Breakfast

Yesterday morning I channeled some inspiration from Caitlin. I used some raw oatmeal and this awesome new yogurt as the base of my breakfast.

P1050255

1/4 c uncooked oatmeal, 1/2 c Brown Cow Maple Yogurt & a drizzle of Pure Maple Syrup for good measure.

P1050256

Such an easy breakfast! I was loving the Maple yogurt, it easily is the best tasting non-Greek yogurt I’ve ever feasted on. I did miss some fruit with my morning meal, but it was a great change!

Snack + Lunch

P1050258

P1050268

P1050269

Kielbasa + Cabbage

While I prepared dinner I snacked on a La Croix splashed with a bit of this new Bolthouse Farms juice. I had high hopes for this juice, but I think the pear threw me off. Matt loved it though so he enjoyed the rest of the bottle.

P1050280

I used some inspiration from a Real Simple Recipe + from a dish I had at Cochon 555 for tonight’s dinner.

P1050276

P1050284

P1050288

  • Kielbasa
  • 16 oz. Coleslaw (Store bought or homemade with cabbage & carrots)
  • 2 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1/4 Red Onion
  • Seasonings: Pepper, Celery Salt, Carraway Seeds
  • How to: Cut up kielbasa and add to a warm saute pan. When heated partially through add remaining ingredients and all to cook. Serve when warmed thoroughly and coleslaw has become cooked. Topped with mustard of choice.

Yogi Quest

After dinner I headed off to yoga. I have been seriously considering going to some sort of yoga retreat in India this year. I have been asking around for feedback from people who have traveled to India, heard of great places to practice in India, or know of anyone who has done either of the two! Any yogis out there have any feedback?

Evening Snack x 2

When I got home I was pretty hungry so I enjoyed a Braeburn with some PB & Co. Bee’s Knees Peanut Butter. I may have snuck a Peanut Butter Finger, too.

P1050293

After embarking on Disc 1 of Whale Wars: Season 2 I broke for a few TJ’s Mini PB Cups. The container is dwindling which is both good and bad news.

Speaking of TV, what are your go-to shows these days? My top 5 are currently:

  • Gossip Girl
  • The Shield
  • Glee
  • Whale Wars
  • The L Word

I like variety!

Love Your Body

Visualization varies from person to person, but the trick is to allow yourself quite and stillness for a few minutes. Most people find it best to concentrate on a place they have been or seen, a song that recalls feelings of relaxation and comfort, or of other pleasing senses that conjure up similar thoughts.

Regardless of what aspects you choose to focus on as you visualize, allow yourself to get lost in your concentration. Close your eyes. Focus on your breathing. Learn a chant if you wish.

Visualization is a powerful tool for self relaxation regardless of where you are in the present. You can visualize from a standing, sitting, or laying position so this is a great technique to use at work or in a parked car if that is all the time you can dedicate during your busy day.

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “My Yogic Quest

  1. I totally agree about visualization! It is definitely key!

  2. your pooch makes me smile 🙂 sorry, no feedback from me.. i have NEVER done yoga!

  3. That would be fun! It’s one of my fantasies to go to a yoga retreat. Have you read “Eat Pray Love”?

  4. so this may sound silly but did you not cook your oatmeal and just ate it dry with yogurt?

  5. I love how you include relaxation and focus as part of loving your body. Mellowing out definitely helps you feel more confident, a big key in loving your body. 🙂

    Also, I have never seen Maple Yogurt. Oh how I would LOVE it though.

  6. Hey! I went to India for 2 weeks in March and I absolutely loved it. I didn’t go to a Yoga retreat but I really really wanted to! Let me know if anyone tells you of any good ones.

  7. i love the love your body stuff!!
    mmm your snack looks GREAT..PB and CO rocks me!! ive never heard of the shield? love GG tho!

  8. Kate

    i have been contimplating a yoga retreat too! this very topic has actually come up multiple times in the last week. weird! i’d love to hear about any you find.

  9. Ah, an Indian yoga retreat sounds crazy fun! I’ve never been to India though, so I can’t offer you any advice.

  10. I have a student employee from India and she said there are so many scams on westerners for yoga/meditation retreats, hack “gurus,” etc. I still want to go there though! I’ve been thinking about doing a retreat here in the US (not just for that reason but cost, time, etc.)

    • Thats what Im most worried about. Im hoping that if I ask enough, someone will eventually lead me in the right (and safe!) direction. Does your student employee have any wise insight? By the way, Ill shoot you an email back today!

  11. I like that last bit. It’s hard for many of us to love our bodies since by the media we’re not considered ‘perfect’ but it’s all about understanding that beauty is from within and keeping your body healthy. If you’re healthy, you’re beautiful.

  12. I just stumbled upon your blog and it’s lovely! So proud of you!

    I’ve been to India twice and I’ve done a yoga retreat at: http://www.yogamagic.net – it’s all organic and very eco-friendly (read: basic luxury). They have different types of yoga and it’s a lovely place to regroup. Many good friends (including my yoga instructor here in Korea) have gone to http://www.yogagoa.com (ashtanga focus) and LOVED it. I plan on going there next year as well.
    Thailand has a number of outstanding yoga retreats – I’ve stayed at http://www.kamalaya.com (ridiculously expensive and fabulous) and I’m looking at trying http://www.absolutesanctuary.com because ashtanga is my preferred yoga style but it’s a newer place so I can’t report back yet. 🙂
    Closer to the states is Montezuma, Costa Rica, where I went to practice for a month last summer and loved the chill atmosphere.
    Hope this helps and best of luck – you rock!

  13. Anna Volkert

    I tried the overnight oats with REAL maple syrup! It was sooo yummy! I think this is my new go to breakfast. Thank you for the suggestions 🙂

Leave a Reply

