Healthy Strides

Breakfast

Yesterdays breakfast was another bowl of Overnight Oats. They are my go-to breakfast of choice when I need to get up early (or before 9!).

  • 1/3 c Oatmeal
  • 1/3 c Stonyfield French Vanilla
  • 1 scoop TJ’s Chocolate Whey Protein Powder
  • Chocolate Chips!

Do you have a go-to breakfast one mornings when you are crunched for time? I used to depend heavily on Erin Baker’s Breakfast Cookies but with Overnight Oats I save money!

P1050063 P1050065

 

Snack

Orange you glad I’m crazy? Snack was obviously a lovely Cara Cara orange.

P1050069

 

Lunch

We are entering the part of the week where the majority of our produce is either used up or being held onto for a particular meal, so I had few choices for my side with my grilled Flatout (filled with cheddar & hummus). I was thinking either carrot or sweet potato fries, but when it came down to it I did not feel like waiting! So I chopped up a few carrots instead and used up the last of my Newman’s Own Pineapple Salsa.

P1050071

P1050072

 

P1050073

 

Yoga Today

After lunch I debated doing some yoga or another form of exercise. But after some guidance from my friends on Twitter, I opted for yoga. I headed to Yoga Today to see what This Week’s Free Video was and I was pleasantly surprised by

Dinner

Moo Shu Vegetables was on the menu for last nights dinner but when I pulled out the Broccoli Slaw that the recipe called for it had gone bad! So I quickly changed gears and opted for more of an Italian spin on supper.

Gnocchi with Pesto + Sautéed Vegetables

           P1050075 P1050083

P1050089

P1050090

Frozen Yogurt

When I got home from work I was craving something sweet so I made a quick homemade frozen yogurt. I threw the following things in a blender and then put the mixture into two separate bowls to freeze a little bit more. Then we had dessert!

  • 1 c Yogurt (I used a mix of plain and French Vanilla)
  • 1/2 c Frozen Strawberries
  • 1 tbsp of Honey

P1050094

Healthy Strides

I know we concentrate a lot on all of the short comings of our society, country, and even of ourselves in regards to topics like exercise and healthy eating but lately I have been so impacted by the healthy attitudes that I have witnessed from ordinary people in my own life.

Virtually every time I get in the car to travel anywhere, regardless of the time of day, I drive past a biker, a runner, or a walker.

I recently started coaching a middle aged couple who want to complete a triathlon as part of their Fitness Bucket List.

During swim lessons I overheard a group of 5 year olds naming their favorite foods. The top picks? Fish, Strawberries, and Corn.

My point is that as much issues as we do have in regards to obesity and lack of exercise, a lot of Americans are making huge strides towards living healthy lifestyles and I think it’s something we are forgetting to celebrate!

Have you noticed a healthy movement in your community? What healthy things catch your attention?

Love Your Body

Today I want you to celebrate your own body by appreciating someone else’s!

Tomorrow’s Earth Day! How do you plan to celebrate?

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Healthy Strides

  1. Your lunch sandwich is almost a Crack Wrap! Love it!!!

  2. Hey girl – great post! We do need to look at the “positive” side of all things healthy. You know what makes me smile? Everyday on my walk with our son, it seems that every car that passes us by, either waves or gives us a big smile…I like to think they are thinking, “when I get home I should also go on a walk”

    As for tomorrow, Earth Day, I plan on planting my seeds in my starter kit!

    Also – still on for the Red Avocado on Sunday for lunch? My friend Erin (Des Moines blogger) might be coming as well…I need to double check with her. Shoot me an email for what time!

  3. i LOVE THE CRACK WRAPPAGE ON HURRR! cheese+hummus is AMAZE..but cheddar is even BETTER!

  4. Yummy! Rising Moon pastas are the bes! 🙂

  5. That’s so cute about the kid’s discussion!!! I think we have come a long way but you could also argue that we have gone TOO far with diets and whatnot. I overheard a similar conversation involving 1st graders earlier this year complaining that they were fat and needed to go on diets. I’m sure they probably heard it from their parents but I still found it kind of sad, you know?

    Your wrap sounds yummy! I also go for overnight oats or yogurt messes on mornings where I am rushed for time. I need to try adding protein powder in overnight oats though!

  6. Lisa

    I love pesto and gnochi. 🙂

  7. YUM – such amazing eats, girl!
    Loved that grilled cheese 🙂
    Have a wonderful Thursday!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  8. That homemade frozen yogurt looks amazing!

    I really like your point about making strides. Like you said, as many problems as we have as a society, I think there are definitely many people who are making huge healthy strides in their lives. And as the weather gets warmer, I’m seeing more and more people outside doing some form of activity. I think (hope) that over time, these health movements will continue to become more mainstream.

  9. Can the body I’m appreciating be Ryan Reynolds’? 🙂

  10. Pingback: Good on Less « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

