S & S

Saturday

I started off my Saturday the way you should start off virtually every sunny weekend morning: with a smoothie!

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Smoothie

  • 1/2 c Frozen Strawberries
  • 1/4 c Soy Milk
  • 1/2 c Plain Yogurt
  • 1 tbsp Cocoa Powder
  • 1 scoop Chocolate Protein Powder

P1040998

The combo of plain yogurt & plain soy milk made for a less sweet smoothie than usual, but still tasty as can be! As I blended breakfast I packed a sampler of a lunch to transport with me to work.

Braeburn Apple, Mixed Nut Clif Mojo, Pineapple Chobani.

P1040994 

I ended up eating only the apple and Mojo bar in a rush between breaks while I was teaching my Lifeguarding class. I ended up saving the Chobani, but never got around to eating it. At least I can enjoy it another day!

Tent Sale

After I finished up with my Lifeguarding class Matt met me at our local Co-op’s Tent Sale. The tent sale is basically an excuse to go and stock up on healthy foods at ridiculously low prices, jam to local bands outside, and enjoy free samples galore.

P1050002

P1050003

P1040999

P1050001

Matt and I treated ourselves to a Root Beer float made with some locally brewed Root Beer and we stocked up on some tasty goodies!

Homemade Bread

Homemade bread always beats store bought bread – unless you are buying your bread from a baker or an amazing grocery store that makes homemade bread. Anyways, a fabulous swim lesson parent brought me a loaf of bread that he baked while I was at work on Saturday.

P1050011

P1050010

When we got home I was pretty hungry despite my Root Beer float festivities and I knew dinner was still a bit away so I got to bread eating! I used some of the new spreadable cheese we got at the Tent Sale to accompany my delicious new loaf.

P1050013

P1050016

Seriously, why buy bread when you can make it and it tastes this good? I am going to get the recipe and be a bread making maven from here on out – hold me to it!

Pizza + Salad + Movie

After our tent sale we couldn’t decide what to do next. We ran threw a few options and the idea of buffalo wings and beer was discussed in detail, but ultimately we decided to do pizza and a movie instead.

 

P1050007

P1050005

Boboli premade whole wheat crust, premade pesto, Italian cheese blend, red peppers.

P1050008

P1050009

After we ate we settled in with some popcorn, a few 4 Ingredient Fridge Bars, and the Chronicles of Narnia 1 & 2. I was a fan! Regardless of the content I am usually game to watching sequels and trilogies, and I especially love movie marathons!

What’s your favorite sequel or trilogy?

Sunday

I couldn’t wait to break into our Tent Sale loot yesterday morning! We bought two boxes of Annie’s Bunnies cereal which in so many words are healthified Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Puffs, basically any sugar loving child’s mother’s dream or any trying-to-be-healthy living blogger who as a boyfriend who loves sugary cereal’s dream. Follow that?

P1050019

Breakfast

P1050020

Bunnies + Soy Milk with Mango + Honeydew enjoyed al fresco.

P1050022    P1050021

Lunch

P1050027

Bread + Mixed Greens + Red Pepper + Moondarra Mango Melon Cheese Spread.

P1050029

P1050032

Sandwich + Carrot + Apple

P1050033

After lunch I did some Polly Yoga and then helped Matt clean the inside & outside of our cars. It was the first time in a long time I didn’t actually get paid to wash a car! I let Matt finish while I came in to do a few things and have a snack and start on dinner.

P1050039

P1050040

Meatball Pomodoro

  • 1/2 Pound Lean Hamburger
  • 1 Hot/Mild Italian Chicken Sausage [removed from the casing]
  • 1 14oz Can Diced Tomatoes with Olive Oil & Garlic
  • Pasta of Choice
  • How to: Remove Chicken Sausage from the casing and mix in a bowl with the hamburger. When meats are integrated form into 16 small meatballs or 8 large meatballs. Put meatballs in baking dish and cover with diced tomatoes [include liquid]. Bake for 30-40 minutes at 350*. Top cooked pasta with your 2 ingredient meatballs. So easy!

P1050035

P1050036

P1050041

P1050045

I finished off my evening with some Real Housewives of New York City [I am officially hooked!] and 2 graham crackers topped with some peanut butter & chocolate chips.

P1050047

Love Your Body

April is wrapping up and that means that so is Love Your Body Month! Get in on it while you can by answering today’s LYB Question:

Make a list of 5 realistic expectations that you have for your body:

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

One day I expect my current body to:

1. Achieve and improve various yoga poses

2. Complete a triathlon

3. Go scuba diving

4. Completely listen to it’s hunger cues

5. One day allow me to have children

 

Have a great Monday!

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “S & S

  1. That smoothie sounds sooooo good. I’m not a big chocolate fan, but I adore chocolate covered strawberries. YUM. Sounds like you guys had a great time at the tent sale. Love getting fresh foods like that. It actually sounds like you had a fun-packed, delicious weekend!

  2. Those are great goals. Especially learning to listen to your body. I’m still working at that one! 🙂

  3. I loooove that kind of smoothie! I just had one actually, so good!
    SO JEALOUS of the homemade bread and that spreadable butter, yum!

  4. I want to go to a tent sale–everything looks great!

  5. yeahhh girl you ROCK!
    love that dessert! i LOVE graham crackers! nom nom nom. i need to make a home made smore..thanks for reminding me!
    LOVE your smoooothie and that BUTTA+BREAD? gahh!

  6. Wow, I haven’t had a rootbeer float in AGES! And now I am craving one 🙂 My favorite triology is the Bourne movies with Matt Damon. So good!

  7. The homemade bread looks amazing! I need to bust out my breadmaker again soon.

  8. That tent sale sounds amazing! I don’t have any local co-ops, though there is Trader Joe’s just a 5 minute drive away. That is my happy place. My mom used to have a bread maker, definitely the best. And mango melon spreadable cheese?!?! my life would be complete.

  9. I need to get a box of those Annie’s fruity bunnies to take me back to my childhood. Please tell me it turns the milk purple

  10. those coop’s are so neat. i really dig them. as do i dig annie products. those little fruity bunnies are probably delish!

  11. Ahhh I want to have a tent sale like that around here, that sounds awesome! I’d go crazy. I’m loving all of the cheese you picked up, I’m so cheese craving now!

  12. 5 realistic expectations for my bod:

    1. Wear a bikini 😉

    2. Improve my skin by cutting out dairy

    3. Do a headstand

    4. Breathe.

    5. Stay active well into old age

  13. DiningAndDishing

    That tent sale sounds awesome! Like a farmers market but with much lower prices :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  14. I want to be able to get that cheese from somewhere- melon and mango?! Sign me up!

  15. Is that all cheese?! I’ve never seen a cheese sculpture before!

    Looks like a great, relaxing weekend.

  16. Kate

    that pasta dish looks amazing! and i think i now need to suggest a tent sale to my co-op. i love cheap stuff!

  17. You have some seriously delicious eats in this post! Wow.

    I adore things that come in a series. My favorite books are part of a young adult series – the Betsy-Tacy series and the Tomorrow When the War Began series.

  18. Pingback: Slippery Pete’s « What Kate Ate

  19. Pingback: Time + Space Traveling « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

