Headstand

Please excuse my lack of posting yesterday. As the weather gets nicer I have been finding it hard to resist the urge to spend every waking moment enjoy life in the present.

Back in January when I started blogging I had this all or nothing mentality and I was really gung ho on pouring all of my time and effort into the blog, and although I still pour time and effort into the blog I am trying not to lose sight of the enjoyment aspect of it.

Let’s face it, sometimes blogging can seem like just another thing on your daily to-do list and that is not where I want this blog to head! Sometimes you just run out of time or forget your laptop charger at work all day while you have the day off [like I did yesterday!] and that’s okay! Plus, no one wants to be strapped to their laptop when its 80 degrees outside in April!

Monday

Per my usual Sunday night routine I threw a bowl of overnight oats into the fridge so they would be ready to travel to work first thing Monday morning.

P1040867

  • 1/3 c Oats
  • 1/3 c Stonyfield French Vanilla
  • 1/3 c Vanilla Soy Milk
  • 1 scoop TJ’s Chocolate Whey Protein

Lunch

After working the rest of the morning I headed home to make some sandwiches for Matt and I for lunch.

We snacked on some Stacy’s Multigrain Pita Chips with some liquid veggies – aka – Newman’s Mango Salsa.

I had about 1/2 a serving of these tasty chips. They serve as the perfect vessel for salsa delivery, even though I could eat salsa with virtually anything.

P1040869 

We lunched on some Arnold’s Sandwich Thins topped with some pepperjack cheese, Oasis Hummus, and some grilled zucchini & half of the juiciest, most delicious orange I have had in a long time. Paired with a spritzer of La Croix Grapefruit with a splash of Simply Orange.

P1040872 

P1040871

While we dined outside the dogs ran the backyard and Ernie even got his first tick of the season! Hooray!

P1040882

P1040877

Snack + Work

After hanging out for a bite I packed up a snack for the road and headed back to work.

Speaking of work, I have about 2 weeks left until my nights official return to a time where I can enjoy time with Matt and the dogs outdoors, freely hang out with friends, and I can cook dinner in real time. I can’t wait!

P1040899

Orange Beef + Broccoli

After yoga I headed home and Matt had made a fabulous Asian inspired dinner for us. I’m working on getting the recipe for you! I can tell you it included some Simply Orange, teriyaki sauce, and some broccoli!

P1040903

P1040901

Enlighten Up

After dinner I relaxed with a bowl of popcorn that I added some of these tasty nuggets to:

P1040905

And I kicked back to watch a yoga documentary that was filmed a few years ago called Enlighten Up.

enlighten_up

Honestly, at first I was a little confused by the message of the film but the more I watched the more I appreciated not only the message but the ample amount of info provided in the dialogue and interviews.

Until fairly recently yoga was solely a source for physical activity for me. Over the past few months something has really clicked within me, my practice, and some of the instructors I have been lucky enough to work with that been able to transform what yoga means to me.

I learned a ton about the history of yoga and about the key figures who are responsible for bringing yoga to the Westernized world. During one particular interview the back scene was a group of yogis doing head stands. To me, head stand has always seemed like such an unachievable task. Even though we are taught to compare ourselves to only ourselves, at times it’s really easy for me to get bent out of shape (yogi pun!) at things that I physically feel like are unachievable.

Interestingly enough, prior to watching Enlighten Up my Monday night yoga instructor talked specifically about how sometimes our mind tells us that are body physically can’t do things that our body actually can. For some reason, both her words and the video inspired me to get up and do my first ever hand stand.

As an adult some things from my childhood still seem to hold me back. The fact that I was never able to do a hand stand, a cart wheel, or a round off have somehow allowed me as an adult to convince myself that now as a reasonably fit and healthy person I am still in capable of these physical feats. Well, guess what?

I’m not! I can do a head stand, and although its not perfect it doesn’t matter. A head stand is so symbolic for me in so many ways. And since Monday I have been doing them every where. Outside. In the living room. At work. Everywhere!

Love Your Body

Day 13: Love Your Body

“Revere the body and care for it, for it is a temple”

Swami Muktananda

 

Tuesday
Yesterday morning I woke up and didn’t want oatmeal, yogurt, or a smoothie. I wanted Frosted Flakes!

I had a serving and a half with some vanilla soy milk and was still hungry. Naturally, I went back for another bowl and then reflected on the fact that if I had oatmeal, yogurt, or a smoothie I would be pleasantly satisfied already!

Sometimes you just need some Frosted Flakes.

P1040906

After eating cereal x 2 I headed to Stats class. Upon coming home I snacked on 1/2 a pita with Oasis Hummus.

All my friends from Iowa: Are you eating this stuff? If not, do yourself a favor and pick some up!

P1040907

Lunch

A little while later I was still snacky so I decided to have a snack-like lunch instead of a more conventional lunch.

P1040908

The crumbs from the bottom of the Stacy’s Pita Chip bag, some Mango salsa, and a mango.

As I lunched snacked I turned off my brain and watched House Bunny on Netflix. Is anyone else super impressed by the Instant Queue options on Netflix?

Walk-n-Talk

At four I met up Aubrey to head for a walk on a trail near our houses with the dogs in tow. We ended up walking for about an hour and talked about putting our lives on hold and traveling the world.

The dogs had a blast being dog-like.

P1040910 P1040912

P1040914 P1040911

There’s nothing like hanging with your best friends!

Snack + Dinner

After our walk I refueled with a Braeburn and some O.N.E. Coconut Water

P1040918

And a few hours later I enjoyed a red pepper, scrambled egg, and buffalo sauce sammie & some snap peas for dinner.

P1040915

P1040916

Love Your Body

In light of my headstand, make a list of things that you are putting off until you are in ‘shape’, ‘perfect’, or simply just until ‘later’. Once your finished go down the list and star all of the things that you are capable of doing right now as you are. Pick one thing and do it today!

Aside from inversions, I also have an aversion to wearing a bikini (which is ironic since I have been working in Aquatics since I was 14). After losing 50 pounds I still lack the bikini confidence that I thought I would magically have after shedding the pounds.

I’m determined to wear a bikini this summer, regardless of if I lose the last stubborn 15 pounds or not. Maybe I’ll even walk around in one today!

Have a great Wednesday!

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Headstand

  1. So putting of swimsuit shopping, but I’m not sure that’ll ever feel right.
    I did my first headstand the other day in my living room (supported by my fists under my head) and I actually yelped with excitement! Such a rush.
    As a language teacher, I tell my students all the time that our weaknesses are valuable for us because they tell us where we need to work. Applies to us too, huh?
    Oh, and Oasis is fabulous.

  2. Meg

    Great job on the handstand! I completely agree that sometimes we talk ourselves out of things we really can do. Mine I think is long-distance running. 🙂

    That beef dish is making my mouth water…looking forward to the recipe.

  3. Your pups are too cute! I love those sandwich thins. They’re also great for toasting up in lieu of pita chips. MMMM. Also a huge fan of mango salsa, but oddly enough, not mangoes. Weird huh?

    Oh, and donning a bikini can suck for anyone no matter what size you are!!

  4. I so love those little bags of mini M&M’s. I like those so much better than the normal size! And I’m a huge hummus fan as well. I need to try the Oasis!

  5. fitandfortysomething

    i enjoyed the enlighten movie in a stange way-i found it interesting……
    love all your pics outside 🙂
    sometimes blogging does seem like one more thing and we should keep it fun. blog when you want 🙂

  6. What’s the coconut water like? What are the benefits? I’ve never heard of it before!

  7. GOOD FOR YOU!!!! Rock that bikini girl…own it…and love it!! 🙂

  8. Congrats on the headstand! Wow! How exciting! I’m definitely scared of the headstand, but now I’m motivated to try. I totally agree that sometimes our minds hold us back from doing things we are perfectly capable of.

    I bet you’ll look fabulous in a bikini! I think doing a few test runs in the privacy of your house should definitely help :).

  9. ooo all those eats look AMAZING!! girl go you w. the headstand! you rock!! you are going to ROCK YOUR BIKINI!!! love you!

  10. I forgot how much I looooooove beef and broccoli. I wish WF had it on their salad bar more often!

  11. Michelle

    I so get you on the headstand thing. I was a gymnast for 7 years and could never do a headstand. Handstand? yep. Standing back tuck? Yes, please! But definitely not a headstand. I’m still scared of those.

  12. elise

    ive never tried that flavor stacy’s – what did you think? as addictive as the other flavors?

  13. Kate

    yehaw on the headstand! those intimidate the hell out of me too. and thanks for the review of the movie. i am very interested in checking it out.

  14. I hope I can wear a bikini this summer, too. I’ve never won one before. I need to GAIn some weight though…I still have birdy legs. ew.

  15. I love this post – everything about the headstand part I can relate to – definitely helped give me confidence to attempt it when the time is right. Thanks for sharing!

  16. I did my first headstand (assisted) a few weeks ago, even though I needed help, I was so proud that I tried.

    You’re right, so often we don’t do things because we don’t feel comfortable.

    I love your “love your body” comments.

  17. ❤ your pups. end of story. oh, and the eats look glorious, too!!

Leave a Reply

