Friday, Saturday, Sunday

Sorry for my last of food photos this weekend. I am happy to report that although I had a Lifeguarding class all weekend I still managed to squeeze in some R&R, tasty eats, and some exercise. Successful weekend in my book!

Breakfasts

P1040811 P1040810

Stonyfield Vanilla, pineapple, Bare Naked Mango Agave Almond Granola, Blackberry Parfait.

P1040826 P1040829

Tropical Overnight Oats: Oats, Yogurt, Milk, Chia Seeds, Kiwi, Pineapple.

P1040846

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Frosted Flakes, Soy Milk, Braeburn.

Lunches

P1040813 P1040814

P1040815 P1040816

El Ranchero: Chips & Salsa, Shrimp Fajitas split with Matt, a bed of lettuce turned into a Fajita salad, with a hidden tortilla of course.

P1040830 

Sparti’s: A Greek salad with grilled chicken, huge chunks of feta, and a tasty pita.

P1040850 P1040823

A failure of a wrap that included some pita, lettuce, grilled onions, hummus, Muenster cheese, and some mayo with a side of pineapple.

Snacks

P1040819  P1040849

             P1040833 P1040852

Dinners

P1040821 P1040822

Tasting Plate: Pita, carrots, Oasis hummus, Newmans Own Mango Salsa.

P1040840  P1040844

Rising Moon Organics Feta-Hazelnut Ravioli with sauteed red onions and sweet potatoes, topped with feta.

P1040856 P1040855

Pork Kebabs

  • 1/4 c BBQ Sauce of Choice
  • 1/2 Fresh Lemon
  • Scallions
  • 2 Medium Pork Boneless Tenderloins
  • Seasonings: Salt & Pepper
  • How to: Cut pork into kebab size chunks, season with salt and pepper, and allow to marinate in a bowl with BBQ sauce & juice of 1/2 a fresh lemon. Cut scallions into inch wide chunks and when meat has marinated to your likely assemble pork & scallions on skewers. Grill & enjoy.

Seasoned Potato Wedges

  • 2 Medium Sized Potatoes (I used Red)
  • Seasonings: Pepper, Salt, Cumin, Spanish Paprika
  • How to: Preheat oven to 450*. Slice potatoes into wedge shapes and mix with desired amount of the above seasonings. Arrange on a cookie sheet or grill to cook.

Treats

P1040824 P1040865

P1040845 P1040862

Moves & More

Friday afternoon I did this weeks free yoga video from Yoga Today which was easily one of the best classes I’ve taken via internet.

After work Matt & I headed to our neighbors house for the tail end of a birthday celebration. I enjoyed a Mikes Hard Lemonade and half of a piece of the most decadent peanut butter brownie known to man.

Sadly I didn’t bring a camera because I didn’t plan to eat or drink, but sometimes you just gotta go with it.

Saturday after I finished up my Lifeguarding class I headed home and Matt and I took the pups on a glorious stroll through some corn fields.

Sunday I did some indirect working out as part of the last day of the Lifeguard class.

What kind of movement did you do this weekend?

Love Your Body

Today as you plan, prepare, and eat your food think about every single step that went into its growth, production, and travel to get to your plate. Think about every single person who played a part in making this food accessible to you. Give thanks.

Hope everyone has had a rocking start to their week, cant wait to catch up on everyone’s weekend happenings!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Friday, Saturday, Sunday

  1. I love your advice to think about the process that brought food to your plate. Not only is it a good way appreciate your food, but it’s also a good way to ensure that you’re eating wholesome, real food.

    I imagine there are far to many steps to think about to get a twinkie from the farm (wheat? dairy? what exactly is IN a twinkie?) to your mouth.

  2. fitandfortysomething

    it does seem like a great weekend! you are right about loving your body and thinking about how the food you eat got to you….love it!

  3. I did a lot of exercising this weekend. 2 swims, and two bike rides! One of those bike rides was really long too. Feeling good, but tired today. 🙂

  4. Hey hey pretty lady…sounds like a good weekend! I love that you made us think about where our food comes from…so important and we all take it for granted! 😦 xoxo!

  5. Great great blog!!! Love it! And that salad looks delish 🙂

  6. That’s a great love your body tip! And all of your food looks delicious, especially the ravioli!

  7. Beautiful pictures! Those kebabs look wonderful!! Mmm mmmm!

    I ran this weekend and played a hockey game! I also planted my whole garden 🙂 Walked the dog, too!

  8. ahh i LOVE kebabs! veggie and meat ones are the BOMB DOT COM!! what a relaxing weekend!

  9. Looks like a great weekend! I enjoyed a run with a friend on Sunday :-).

    And I actually didn’t get an e-mail about an Iowa blogger meetup. Feel free to fill me in at got2run06@yahoo.com.

    Have a great week!

  10. Kate

    looks like you had a lovely weekend!

    this weekend i helped my grandparents which i am totally counting as exercise and went for a little run.

    and i love the reminder about knowing where your food comes from. something that is frequently over looked but super important!

  11. actorsdiet

    the ravioli looks great with the squash and cheese…so simple yet fancy!

Leave a Reply

