My candid convo

I woke up yesterday morning in a somewhat familiar situation – I just wasn’t hungry for breakfast. Like my friend over at Girl Meets Health I was torn between not wanting to eat when I was not hungry and not wanting to skip breakfast. So I went with a modified breakfast in a cup.

Protein powder + soy milk might not be the most balanced meal but it satisfied me and didn’t push me over in terms of fullness.

P1040782

Snack

Of course a few hours later I got hungry and broke for the Queen of all snacks a Pineapple Chobani. This was my first time trying this flavor and it was one product that definitely held up to it’s hype. I loved how it was not overly sweet and I was a huge fan of the fruit on the bottom.

P1040790

Burgers + Fries
One of the best things about Matt working from home is that we get to eat lunch together. Its super important to me that we occasionally get to eat together as a family since a few nights a week I eat while I am at work.

I think part of me had the value of eating together as a family instilled in me as a child. Matt and I do eat in front of the tv more than I would like (blame him on that bad habit!), but we try to eat together.

Do you value being able to eat together as a family? Do you find yourself eating in front of the television?

P1040785

When the weather was nicer earlier in the week I had planned to grill one night this week. Sadly we had to move our grill indoors since the weather lately has been rainy and cold!

I got to work on the sweet potatoes and Matt assembled some tasty burgers that even featured a little pocket of blue cheese inside!

P1040784

After catching up on Lost (does anyone else get lost when they watch Lost?!) I got a few things done around the house and headed back to work.

At work I munched on a bag of popcorn to hold over my hunger until dinner time. Does anyone know how to pop popcorn that’s not in a microwave bag? I’m talking just plain popcorn kernels that you add to a paper bag and make your own popcorn? I feel like I’ve seen it done somewhere in blogland!

Black + Blue Frittata

For dinner I made a quick frittata that included a few stand out flavors. Frittatas truly are the dish that everyone should know how to make. Regardless of your cooking skills, the time of day, or what you have in your fridge – frittatas seriously are the one dish wonder. Plus they are a good for you!

And since I’m the Queen of 5 ingredient dishes – this has 5 ingredients!

  • Bacon [2 slices]
  • Blue Cheese [1/4-1/2 c]
  • Red Potatoes [1 large, 2-3 small]
  • Scallions
  • 5 Eggs
  • Seasonings: Salt and Pepper
  • How to: In a oven safe skillet allow chopped bacon and diced potatoes to cook. When bacon is cooked and potatoes are softened add 5 whisked eggs, chopped scallions, and blue cheese to the pan. Immediately transfer pan to a 350* preheated oven and allow to cook until eggs are firm. Slice & serve.

P1040787

P1040792

P1040795 

Yoga + Dessert

After finishing up my dinner and night at work I headed over to Wednesday night yoga. Tonight we did tons of Sun Salutations, worked on some inversions, and experimented with some Kundalini breathing exercises – perfect combo if you ask me!

Dessert included 1 Chocolate Covered Peanut Butter Filled Pretzel, 1 Dark Chocolate Mini Egg, & 1 Almond Kiss.

P1040797

Love Your Body

Day 8: Love Your Body

Have a candid conversation with your body about the food that you provide it. Does it crave it? Feel fulfilled by it? What does your body need from food? What does your body get from the food you provide it? Is the food you eat in sync with your health and fitness goals? Reflect on your answers.

Recently I vowed to start calorie counting in an effort to lose weight, but I immediately changed my mind. The act of counting calories seemed like such a step backwards for me in regards to my diet, my health, and my food issues. I do know that counting calories helped me tremendously when I was first starting to lose weight. It taught me about portion sizes, nutritional info, and the appropriate number of calories to take in and burn.

Of course I know that the quickest way for me to lose the last 15 pounds I want to lose is to crunch numbers and to stick to a plan until bikini season comes – but I just don’t see that happening. Instead I have been trying to be aware of making smarter choices, cutting out soda and sweets, and making a few small adjustments here and there so I can see results.

And guess what? I have! I’ve already lost a few pounds and to be honest it hasn’t really felt like work. The food I have been taking in lately (with the exception of 1/2 a bag of chocolate covered pretzels) has been things that I have craved, been fulfilled by, and ultimately have been in sync with my weight loss goals.

Do I need to eat more veggies? Yes. Do I need to drink more water? Yes. Do I still need to monitor my sweet tooth? Yes. But I’ve got plenty of time!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “My candid convo

  1. I love eating dinner with my husband every night. I really value my family time and rarely eat in the front of the TV. I love how you wrote about having a convo with your body, it’s so important to listen to what it needs!

  2. i think protein powder and soy milk are a great way to start the day! that way you still get your protein in but are not stuffed to the brim. and then later you had a carb-heavy snack which balanced it all out in the long run 🙂 i LOVE the pineapple chobani. it is one of my favorite treats! your burger and fries look awesome but what i am really digging is that frittata. i love them, they are so versatile. the ingredients you picked sound like a great combo!

  3. I think eating together as a family is so important! When I was an undergrad, my friends and I would arrange dinner nights so we could eat together. Growing up I always ate dinner with the fam – even though the TV was often on (playing Jeopardy often coincided with dinner haha!).

    It’s been a while since I’ve made popcorn in the microwave, but I think you just put the kernels in a paper bag (just enough to cover the bottom), roll the top a bit, and then put in until the popping slows.

    I’m very happy to hear you’re reaching your goal!! Congratulations!

  4. Keith and I always eat together at the table with the TV off (unless it is Monday night football..haha) and we just enjoy time to talk and catch up. It is my favorite time of day! 🙂

  5. I’m really enjoying the Love Your Body questions! I understand what you mean about calorie counting…I may need to start doing that- I’m not honest enough with myself to stay away from the bad stuff sometimes.
    I pop corn kernels in the microwave pretty frequently! I use 1/4 cup of kernels in a sandwich bag and spray a quick shot of Smart Balance or PAM into the top of the bag before I roll it up. This prevents the kernels from burning. I pop it for approx. 2 minutes, or until the popping slows. Once finished, I usually pour it into a bowl, add another quick shot of Earth Balance, and sprinkle with salt or nutritional yeast! Hope that helps 🙂

  6. Congrats on losing the weight girl!!! Just being mindful of what you eat without any drastic change can make a HUGE difference!!! And no one’s diet will ever be absolutely perfect 🙂 I feel mainly fulfilled by my diet. When I go with what I’m craving, I will usually end up eating really balanced with a few splurges, but those are good for your soul.

    I eat in front of the TV or sometimes I’ll read a book and eat. I eat every meal alone except for dinner with my mom but we will also eat in front of the TV and watch one of “our shows.” It’s not ideal but we still enjoy the time together, I think you have to find what works for you. Now, when I have a family one day, I think meals together (sans TV) is extremely important, especially when you have children.

  7. Cole

    I love day 8. That is such a great perspective to have!

  8. I’m so jealous of your yogurt!!! They dont sell Chobani in Canada and always see it on all the blogs 😦

    Me and my fiance usually eat together every night but the TV is usually on as background noise…. we get the best of both worlds.

  9. Nice! I’m glad you are sticking with just eating what fuels your body (including cravings and learning to watch those). Eventually, I want to drop off calorie counting and try intuitive eating, although I know if I get sidetracked, I can always go back to calorie counting, but I want to live life not writing down every single thing. I mean, it’s effective now, and it’s effective period, but there’s a certain point where I feel like I need to go into “adulthood” when it comes to weight loss and healthy living.

    So kudos to you for being able to do it! Keep it up! The frittata looks great! I might have to make one 🙂 Yummy!

    AND, I love how you put your desserts in a bowl. I do it too. I put a mini creme-filled cadbury egg and then savored it for like 5 minutes. It was heavenly. Why are cadbury eggs so good?!

  10. A few months ago, we finally pulled out our kitchen table and got it arranged so that we eat there every night. Before we always were on table trays in front of the TV….it’s nice! I recommend trying it!

    I’m using bleu cheese in a dish I have planned for next week….and seeing it in your burgers reminds me I should leave some out to stick in our turkey burgers I have planned!

Leave a Reply

