1 2 3 Breathe

Today has been such a nutty day! Sometimes for your pure reading pleasure I wish I blogged in current-time. You guys miss out on so much ridiculous commentary since I blog about the previous day’s eats, antics, and activities.

Let me just tell you tomorrows post will be a dousy!

Rewind

Sunday night I made some overnight oats to grab on my way to work on Monday morning.

In the Fridge

  • 1/2 c Oats
  • 1/2 c Stonyfield French Vanilla
  • Splash of Milk
  • Chia Seeds

In the Morning

  • Blackberries’
  • Spoonful of PB&Co Bees Knees Peanut Butter

P1040716

P1040718

In between working I grabbed some kiwi to snack on.

P1040719

Scrambled Tofu

After work I headed home to put together a speedy and easy lunch of Scrambled Tofu Sandwiches.

I had been wanting to try to make some Scrambled Tofu since I had it at McFoster’s in Omaha a few weeks ago. My sister has a super easy recipe that she shared with me over the phone and wa-la Scrambed Tofu I had made.

  • 1 Block Firm Tofu
  • Seasonings: Salt, Pepper, Turmeric, Minced Onion, Garlic Powder
  • How to: Allow water to drain from tofu (I used heavy pans to squish the excess water out) and chop up tofu into scrambled egg consistency. Add tofu to a skillet and add desired amount of each of the seasonings (the turmeric turns it the yellow, egg color). Cook until desired temperature or until you have reached your desired ‘crunchiness’. Enjoy like real eggs!

P1040720

Tofu Scramble with some scallions & a slice of Cheddar served on a Arnold’s Sandwich Thin with some ketchup & buffalo sauce for dipping. Plus green grapes for roughage.

P1040722 

I finally found some Sandwich Thins at the store this weekend, so like any normal Sandwich Thin lover would do, I stocked up!

Photo Shoot

After lunch I proceeded to get none of my to-do list done, but instead relaxed with the dogs and broke into an impromptu photo session. Ernie would not stay still for a photo but I got a few of Ollie being a camera ham.

P1040739   P1040758

After doing much of nothing I decided to throw together the simplest meal I could think of: Pasta.

P1040723

Rotini + Alfredo + Zucchini =

P1040724

P1040727

I ended up going back for 1/2  a serving more. For some reason I was really hungry last night.

Work, Yoga, Work, & Done

After dinner I headed to work for a few hours and then was off to yoga class. We practiced one of my favorite poses:

I have a few favorite poses and a few not so favorite poses (ahem, rabbit!). Yogis: What are you favorite and least favorite yoga poses?

After class (and skipping final relaxation!) I rushed back to the pool to finish up the first night of a Lifeguarding class. I find myself being the most stressed out immediately before or after yoga classes for some reason. I am always running late, stressing out, or worry about something before I practice – just a daily reminder of why I need to practice, but also a bit ironic!

Once home Matt and I enjoyed some television aka Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution and a bowl of popcorn which may have had a few of these guys hiding in it:

P1040729 P1040731

Love Your Body

Day 6: Love your Body

Concentrate on all of the aspects of you that separate you from the rest. You are incredibly unique in your own right from everyone else in the world. What characteristics of yours stand out as unique to yourself?

One characteristic of mine that has taken me most of my life to accept is that I have a face full of freckles! They are super unique and although I usually forget they are there, they make me special!

Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution

As I mentioned above I have (like most bloggers) been following Jamie’s series about making over America’s relationship with food. Aside from being hooked and extremely moved I’m also a huge supporter and fan. If you haven’t had the chance to do so watch his show and sign his petition.

Sunshine Burger Giveaway

I started a giveaway yesterday for 5 people to win some coupons for free veggie burgers. Enter to win here. Even if you’ve never tried Sunshine Burgers before, you should enter to win. You have nothing to lose, plus as of right now you’re chances of winning are pretty high!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “1 2 3 Breathe

  1. I forgot how good scrambled ‘fu is! The only time I’ve had it was at brunch and I have no clue how to make it myself

  2. oh! ollie is totally ready for his close up! so cute. i love your speckled bowl and that corkscrew alfredo looks tasty. have a great night!

  3. I’ve never thought of tofu scramble before, but another thing to add to the list. Looks wonderful!

  4. Well now I am SUPER curious about tomorrow’s post!!! 😉
    The tofu scramble sounds awesome! And it really looks like scrambled eggs!
    And the alfredo sauce sounds delish…yum!!!! I haven’t had alfredo in AGES!
    Love ya!

  5. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the Love your Body questions every day! They make my day Kate!

    The physical characteristic that I like about me is my nose. It is quite small and my husband always kisses it…makes me smile! 🙂

  6. The oats w/ blackberries look so good!

    And I agree with Kelly that I love the “Love Your Body” thing. I have freckles too that I used to hate, but now I love them. I have some characteristics that I’m still learning to love, like my pointy chin! I like to think that my scars really make me unique – they tell a story about places I’ve been and things I’ve done.

Leave a Reply

