Easter FUNday

We kicked off our Easter morning but sleeping in and enjoying Chocolate Covered Cherry Smoothies.

Blender:

  • 20 Frozen Cherries
  • 1/2 c Vanilla Yogurt
  • 1/4 c Soy Milk
  • 1 scoop Chocolate Whey Protein
  • 1 tbsp Cocoa Powder

P1040632

After our liquid breakfast we headed to visit Matt’s family up in Cedar Rapids. After socializing and eating a couple deviled eggs, we made our veggie dishes: Asparagus & Brussels Sprouts.

Matt and I are pretty famous for making some sort of veggie for holiday events, and they usually end up being Brussels Sprouts. We love them! Its so easy for me to throw together a quick salad or a quick side veggie dish – and that way regardless of what we are having I know I can eat something.

I’ve learned that you can’t always depend on others to meet your dietary needs, so for me that means traveling with greens!

Do you ever bring dishes that you know are healthy along to guests homes? Do you just indulge if you are presented with less than stellar nutritional finds or do you pass everything up until you can eat something more your style later?

The plate

Ham, roasted asparagus, 1/2 a sweet potato, sautéed Brussels Sprouts with onions.

P1040682 

P1040683

The Hunt

After eating we headed over to Matt’s sister and brother-in-laws for the Easter Egg Hunt.

P1040693

P1040702

P1040703

 

Other highlights

Overall we had a pretty awesome Easter

A few handfuls of Mini Eggs were enjoyed:

P1040681

I convinced a small, veggie hating child that asparagus was the fingers of green giants:

P1040684

And he tried it:

P1040687

And a family portrait was taken:

P1040699

After the egg hunt we headed home and spend some time cleaning the house, relaxing, and I even got to partake in this weeks Yoga Today Free Video [which I highly recommend].

 

Giveaway

The wonderful people at Sunshine Burger offered to giveaway 5 free coupons for some Sunshine Burger to 5 of you!

barbecue

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since there are 5 chances to win there are 5 ways to enter:

  1. Leave a comment below answering today’s Love Your Body question.
  2. Tweet “@WhatKateAte I want to win the @SunshineBurger Giveaway!” & tell me you tweeted.
  3. Mention this Giveaway on your blog or to a friend & tell me you did.
  4. Mention Love Your Body Month on your blog or to a friend & tell me you did.
  5. Tell me how many hours you spend blog reading/how many blogs you visit on a normal day – I am so curious!

Giveaway ends Friday at noon!

Love Your Body

Day 5: Love Your Body

Make a list of 10 positive words that refer to your body:

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

 

My List [this took more thought than I imagined it would!]

1. Able

2. Unique

3. Strong

4. Small

5. Flexible

6. Dynamic

7. Versatile

8. Beautiful

9. Nourished

10. Peaceful

 

Birthdays

My niece Sunnie & my nephew Aaron both celebrated very special birthdays this weekend. Happy Birthday Nuggets!

P1040031  P1040021

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “Easter FUNday

  1. Yay, i’ve always wanted to try those Sunshine Burgers!
    1 Small
    2 Petite
    3 Flexible
    4 Strong
    5 Unique
    6 Capable
    7 Toned
    8 Muscular
    9 Athletic
    10 Able

  2. 1. Strong
    2. Able
    3. Brazen
    4. Durable
    5. Educated
    6. Nourished
    7. Smooth
    8. Flexible
    9. Determined
    10. Healable

  3. I woul say 2 hours blogging, another 90 minutes reading, and I have 84 blogs in my reader but probably read more than that

  4. i LOVE all these easter recaps! cute photo of you! dont want to enter the giveaway, but i wanted to comment on your easter!

  5. Tweeted!!

    You bring up a good subject: eating at other people’s homes. It can be hard if you’re watching your weight. I was lucky because my family was really supportive of me losing weight. Whenever I had to bring something (potluck style) I was sure to bring something healthy I knew I could eat. At ANY event, there’s usually SOMETHING healthy…salad, veggie tray, fruit, etc.

  6. There is always healthier options at family get togethers on my side, but I also always plan to indulge more since I love special occasion food. I won’t eat something I don’t truly love though.

    And to answer your Love Your Body Question:
    1. Mother
    2. Strong
    3. Healthy
    4. Energetic
    5. Happy
    6. Athletic
    7. Unique
    8. Loving
    9. Smooth
    10. Powerful

  7. HEY SUGAR!!
    ahhh amazing PICS! what a fun easter!! sorry im not entering bc i dont like those burgers and i dont wana steal em from sombody who does 😦
    HAPPY MONDAY GIRLL!!!

  8. Hours reading blogs? Gosh. Hm…it all depends on the day, I guess. But in general I’d say I spend anywhere from 1-3 hours reading other people’s blogs! And that doesn’t include working on my own! It’s quite tough while working a 9-5 job at the same time :/

  9. Pingback: Happy Belated Easter! « Waking Up Hungry

  10. 1. Soft skin

    2. dry feet

    3. strong

    4. Mommy tummy

    5. brown eyes

    6. healthy

    7. 15 months nicotine free

    8. loving

    9. happy

    10. Mine

  11. I probably spend too much time reading blogs! As soon as I wake up, and before I go to bed I am reading blogs!

  12. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    I loooove sunshine burgers…but since i’m at school i have no freezer to stock them in so i’ll refrain from stealing those AMAZING thangs from someone more deserving!! hahah

    That smoothie looks great though! So excited to get back into smoothies this summa!

  13. I always bring a healthy dish to family/friend get togethers! Mainly because I love to see people’s faces when they realize that healthy food can taste good!!

    1. healthy
    2. strong
    3. athletic
    4. determined
    5. smiley (is that a word??)
    6. toned
    7. fast
    8. hyper
    9. dependable
    10. lovable

  14. Pingback: 1 2 3 Breathe « What Kate Ate

  15. I spend a good 2-3 hours per day blogging. I usually get my blogging in during my daughter’s nap. I know I could be doing other things though.

  16. I’ve never had a veggie burger, so I’d love to try!

    Mother
    Friend
    Supporter
    Determined
    Relaxer
    Funny
    Sarcastic
    Food lover (I know, two words!)
    Reliable
    All-American

  17. i probably spend an hour or two. less on weekends, more on weekdays!
    -r

  18. Make a list of 10 positive words that refer to your body:

    1. smooth

    2. powerful

    3. strong

    4. capable

    5. resillient

    6. forgiving

    7. faithful

    8. surprising

    9. unique

    10. appreciated (now!)

  19. Katie

    1. athletic
    2. healthy
    3. strong
    4. passionate
    5. energetic
    6. hard working
    7. adaptable
    8. fun
    9. reliable
    10. loved

  20. ahhh sunshine burgers! my fave!

    1. strong
    2. able
    3. muscular
    4. dynamic
    5. flexible
    6. unique
    7. adaptable
    8. forgiving
    9. capable
    10. MINE!!!

  21. If there’s a potluck, I will try to bring something healthier, but that most people would like. I always indulge too because it doesn’t happen very often and the food is usually really good! I just try to watch portion sizes.

    10 positive words about my body: (I’m trying not to copy anyone, but it’s hard!)
    1. Healthy
    2. Nourished
    3. Supple
    4. Invaluable
    5. Beautiful
    6. Energetic
    7. Hardy
    8. Gentle
    9. Powerful
    10. Unique!!

  22. Pingback: Hello Kitty Happy « Waking Up Hungry

Leave a Reply

