The plunge

I finally took the plunge! After weeks of reading about the Choco Cherry Love Bombs I finally remembered to pick up some frozen cherries at the grocery store this week. And once I had all of the ingredients there was no holding me back!

P1040601

P1040602

  • 20 Frozen Cherries
  • 1/4 c Stonyfield French Vanilla Yogurt
  • 1/2 c Soy Milk
  • 1 scoop TJ’s Chocolate Whey Protein Powder
  • 1 tsp TJ’s Cocoa Powder
  • 2 Ice Cubes

 

I’m not an expert by any means when it comes to smoothies – actually I am pretty terrible so I was pleasantly surprised when I varied from the suggested formula and still had something edible! Lately bananas of any kind have been rubbing me the wrong way so I decided to nix that part all together. I didn’t miss it! Besides as long as there is chocolate there is no problem! Chocolate + anything = a success. Don’t you agree?

Have you tried Kristen’s Chocolate Cherry Bomb? What’s your secret formula for the best smoothie – whether it involves chocolate & cherries or otherwise?

Winner Winner!

After I came home from class I was greeted with a box that had my name on it. Usually all of the packages that arrive at our household are for Matt. He usually gets at least one a day (he gets a lot of packages for his business) so I did a little happy dance to celebrate it being for me!

It was my box of Nature’s Path Granola Bars that I won over at Hangry Pants a couple of weeks ago! Hey hey! Being the lovely girlfriend that I am I let Matt have the first one out of the box since I felt bad the package wasn’t for him!

P1040605

His thoughts: Very good! A lot like Quaker Granola Bars but with a little more chew.

Lunch

Instead of ruining my growing appetite on a granola bar I decided to make lunch! I have been on a huge sandwich kick lately. The weird thing is when I was a vegetarian I tended to stray from sandwiches because it felt weird to have a meatless sandwich – but the majority of my sandwiches are sans meat anyways! I was missing out!

 

P1040607 

A toasted English Muffin with 2 eggs whites & some Trader Joe’s Strawberry Preserves with half of the largest Cara Cara orange I have ever seen.

P1040608

I also finished off the last serving from this bag:

P1040606

After lunch I lounged around, blogged, read blogs, and caught up on some Biggest Loser episodes – I am so behind! A few hours later I broke for a snack – A few crackers from Whole Foods, some Salmon spread, and a couple of prune-like black grapes.

P1040609

P1040610 

Dinner

After having a few passes at Thai food last week I decided that I wanted to make some Thai-inspired for dinner this week. After perusing the aisles of the grocery store and running through the things I already had at home I knew I would easily be able to pull something off.

Coconut Chicken Curry

  • 1 tsp Red Curry Paste
  • 1 tsp Light Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp Minced Garlic
  • 1 tsp Ginger
  • 1 tsp Base (I used Chicken)
  • 1 can Light Coconut Milk
  • 1/4 Red Onion
  • 1 Red Pepper
  • 1 Large Chicken Breast
  • How to: Add diced onion to pan and allow to soften. Add first 6 ingredients to the same pan and bring to a boil. As mixture is being brought to a boil dice pepper and chicken breast into desired size. Add chicken and peppers to the mixture and allow to simmer until ready to serve. Serve over brown rice.
  • Note: It looks like a lot of ingredients but I had everything on hand besides the Red Curry Paste. Feel free to bulk it up with more veggies or play with the protein – shrimp and tofu would both be great alternatives.

 

P1040611

P1040613

P1040614

I headed to work and then came home to enjoy some ice cream and a catch-up chat with the best friend. I had a little bit more than 1/2 a cup of this gem:

P1040617

Ben & Jerry’s is so good and so bad all at the same time! What is your favorite flavor? Cherry Garcia? Half Baked? I know you healthy living bloggers still love the occasional cone – spill it!

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “The plunge

  1. Yummm Ben and Jerry’s!!!! I’m not sure what the name of it is but my favorite flavor is a chocolate ice cream base with brownie bits in it.. so good!!!

  2. DiningAndDishing

    My fave is chocolate fudge brownie…ESP when I find a nice hunk of brownie in there 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  3. Hi Kate!! New reader here 🙂 I am literally drooling over that coconut thai dish!! I lurrrve anything with coconut!

    Looking forward to reading more of your blog 🙂

    -Lauren

  4. what a great day! i love getting packages too 🙂
    your dinner looks delicious and I so need to try to make that shake-yum!

  5. Danielle

    I’ve never tried a chocolate cherry bomb but it sounds really good 😀 How can bananas be rubbing you the wrong way?? lol

  6. i remember liking the ben & jerry’s chocolate brownie froyo a lot. my favorite “ice cream” now is the so delicious coconut milk ice cream. it’s amazing. they have these little ice cream sandwiches that are so good too, and only 90 calories each. i crave ice cream like mad in the summer months!

  7. HALF BAKED BABY!! YUMMM!

  8. OMG, I just started making smoothies with frozen cherries. SO YUMMY! Love it.

  9. Ben and jerrys is one of the brands I don’t like, surprisingly. Too rich/sugary/thick for my taste. I do love that they’re going all fair trade by 2012, though. I just wish I liked their product!

  10. Phish Food!!!!! My favorite! And they have a lower calorie version too!

  11. I love Half Baked! Cookie dough AND brownie all in one?? Just can’t be beat! 😀

  12. I’ve never tried the Cherry Chocolate Bomb smoothie but I’m intrigued.. though I’ve heard some bad reviews too ;).

    That curry looks fantastic!

  13. I’m a fan of their brownie version…not sure what it is called. And I’m not afraid to say I love ice cream and I don’t pass it up if it’s given to me! I’m not one of those girls…

  14. Oh definitely Cherry Garcia…hands down!! 🙂 YUM!

  15. ive recently started eating egg whites with jam and i love it! i havent tried the cherry bomb that i have seen everywhere, but i think i need to.. SOON. your curry looks like it turned out awesome! i am not picky when it comes to B&Js! i like it all! but my favorite is probably willie nelson’s peach cobbler. YUM.

  16. I haven’t tried the chocolate cherry bomb. I don’t like the chocolate/cherry combo typically. I do love green monsters though: 1 cup vanilla soymilk, 3 kale leaves, 2 tbsp flax seeds, 10 strawberries, and one banana. It’s my go-to shake!

    I love, love, love curry. I like your recipe!

Leave a Reply

