Mindless Snacking

Monday mornings always spell overnight oats. Its the easiest, fastest, healthiest early morning breakfast I can think of and it has definitely become a staple on mornings where I need to get up at 5.

Yesterday mornings mix included two essential ingredients:

P1040585

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Overnight Oats:

  • 1/2 c Oats
  • 1/2 c Stonyfield French Vanilla Yogurt
  • 1 scoop Chocolate Whey Protein Powder
  • Drizzle of Chocolate Milk

P1040587

Topped with some Strawberries:

P1040588

P1040590

Snack

I had some black grapes for a snack – don’t they look like olives?

P1040591

I haven’t been snacking on grapes as frequently as I usually do. I love to have some in the fridge because they tend to lead me to make better snacking choices.

One of my more unhealthier habits is that I nibble, nibble, nibble. I nibble while I cook, while I portion out servings, while I have the fridge open and I’m trying to figure out what I am going to eat – basically I am the nibbling queen.

I thought that blogging would cut down on my likeliness to nibble and in a few ways it has but I still do from time to time. I know that mindlessly eating a few things here and there can add up so I try to keep a few tips in mind.

  1. Have a healthy snack available to munch on while you are preparing meals ahead of time – if I am hungry it is so hard to resist eating, so I take that out of the equation.
  2. Keep your mouth busy – in other situations when I am preparing a meal to be eaten immediately I don’t really need to add a snack to the mix so I’ll sip on a flavored no calorie drink like tea or chomp on some gum.
  3. I portion out snack foods instead of having full bags lying around– when I see a full serving or a part of serving it is harder for me to mentally commit to eating it mindlessly.

Are you a mindless snacker? What are your tips?

Lunch

Avocado, red onion, romaine & provolone on a toasted English Muffin with a serving of Sun Chips.

P1040596 

P1040595

After lunch I blogged and headed to meet a friend downtown at a coffee shop to catch up! I ordered the perfect afternoon pick me up:

P1040597

Plum Passion Iced Tea!

After working for a few hours and getting some to-do’s off my list I was in need of a snack. I found a new granola at the store this weekend and I even had a coupon!

P1040593

P1040594

P1040600

1/4 of a cup Mango Agave Almond Granola with some soy milk? Yes please!

Coaching

After work I headed to a scheduling meeting for coaches for the upcoming Spring season for the club swim team I’ll be coaching for. Unfortunately I wasn’t notified about the meeting until the afternoon of so I had to forgo my yoga class which runs 7:30-8:30 to attend the meeting and didn’t have a chance to make up the workout!

I had packed a dinner but my schedule was kind of thrown off with the impromptu meeting was added to the mix. I was still full from the granola when I left work so I just waited to eat. After the meeting all of the coaches ended up heading out to a bar for some drinks and some food so I obliged.

I didn’t take any photos since I was with mixed company – I never thought I would say that! But I ended up having a Blue Moon, a few nachos, and 1/2 a greasy veggie melt that had cheese, mushrooms, onions, red peppers, and tomatoes on it. Don’t you had when indulgent food choices aren’t even satisfying? Just a total waste of calories!

Do you ever not take photos when you are with people you don’t know or in front of your boss/co-workers? Do you have any strange situational stories about taking food photos or failing to do so? Share!

 

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Mindless Snacking

  1. Really jealous of your lunch, it sounds so good and fresh! I’m hungry but trying not to snack mindlessly this afternoon!!

  2. GREAT tips lovely!!! i def mindless snack when i study..haha

  3. Ooo I DO hate it when you eat something with high calories or fat and it’s not even good!!! One of the worst things ever!
    I love snacking on grapes, definitely one of my go-to snacks. I tend to be a nibbler too and you have really great tips!
    I take pictures around my family openly but friends? Not so much. I tend to use a trick where you pretend you are texting but are actually taking a picture with your cell phone. They won’t ever know the difference 😉

  4. Always in front of people I don’t know, like strangers in a restaurant because you don’t have to explain. I don’t however take pics in front of my Man’s extended fam cause I don’t want to have to explain 😉 Mostly just cause I’m lazy!

  5. I don’t have any problems snapping photos in front of randos. However, it is really awkward for me to snap photos in front of friends/family other than my boyfriend, mom or brother.

  6. The Chocolate Overnight Oats look great!
    I definitely mindlessly snack a lot. I try to have healthier foods to grab like grapes, dates, crackers, or cereal. I try to remind myself to stop and think if I’m really hungry – if I am, I sit down and eat something substantial. It’s still a work in progress!

    I don’t take pictures in front of many people yet. It’s too hard to explain sometimes!

  7. I think it’s so funny that you mention this because it happened tonight! None of my friends at school know that I have a blog and I usually am just cooking for one, so I have the time to take pictures. When my room mate was preparing her dinner she heard me snap a photo of mine and was questioning why I was doing so. I told her I was “documenting” since prior to dinner I took a picture of my blender exploding to send to my parents. I don’t know if it is weird or not that I don’t tell my friends. My entire family knows, and most of them follow but I always feel like my friends would think it was insane.

  8. I have told most of my friends and family. But coworkers…NO way. I do not want them reading my blog…just cause, it would be a little weird. I only take pics at work if NO one is around.

  9. those grapes DO look like olives! i take photos in front of everyone. my bosses make fun of me but i dont care!

  10. im def a portion out kind of snacker, if I dont I can easily eat the whole bag of whatever Im eating (or container if it has to do with PB) I always try to throw my cereal in a baggie or just take what I want then put it away so I am not tempted to go back for more (although that doesn’t ALWAYS happen the way I plan :))

    those grapes look GOOOOOD

  11. I am a snacker, too. I have tried a million things to break that habit, but I think it is time to accept it.
    My boyfriend and parents are the only one’s that I don’t mind taking foodphotos in front of. If I am at work, I just try to wait until some one leaves the office.

    Have a fabulous day!
    🙂

  12. Great tips on snacking- I follow those same ones!
    And I’m loving your chocolate covered strawberry overnight oats! Looks delicious!
    I do sometimes feel a bit odd taking pics in public, but I just try to forget about what others may think. I’m probably thinking it’s more odd than anyone else.

  13. There are definitely people I don’t take food photos in front of. And a lot of the ones I actually do take photos in front of always give me a hard time. Oh well.

    Sorry your indulgent meal wasn’t very satisfying. I hate when that happens too.

  14. One thing I do to avoid mindless snacking is chewing gum. I never want to snack when my mouth tastes minty! 🙂

  15. Mindless snacking is usually cured with gum (for me). I still have NOT gotten comfortable taking pictures of my food at resturaunts. I actually don’t want to…I just want to enjoy the experience and sometimes don’t want to have to worry about pictures. I don’t like feeling married to my cell phone let alone my camera!

  16. Pingback: Another Healthy 5 Ingredient Meal « What Kate Ate

  17. hey girl – great post. i used to be a snacker FOR SURE, but i realized it was because i thought i had to eat 3 square meals a day, and that’s it. i know eat multiple times a day and i dont snack between since i’m happy knowing i get to eat again so soon!

    as far as the pictures are concerned, i used to be SO embarrassed about it, even around my family and boy. the other day, though, i was out at california pizza kitchen with my guy and when we got our food, he was like WAIT!!! don’t forget to take a picture for your blog! lol i say most people will be impressed, and if you love it – go for it!

    ps – good luck on coaching this season! now that its warmer i hope to get back in the pool soon 🙂
    – rebekah

Leave a Reply

