My Magic Formula

Once the weather starts getting nicer the weekends literally fly by! I find myself much more tired come Monday morning too, I think it has to do with adding in all sorts of extra activities that don’t involve loafing around, hot chocolate, or made for tv movies – but I’m not complaining!

Breakfast

Yesterdays breakfast was a play on Lox & Cream Cheese.

P1040572

A whole wheat bagel with Salmon Cream Cheese that had salmon, capers, and onions in it.

P1040571

Joined by a plum.

P1040568

 

After breakfast I watched some more Whale Wars on Netflix [Seriously has anyone seen this show besides me?!] and then Matt and I geared up to run some errands. I grabbed each of us a Nature Valley granola bar but was charging my camera batteries so didn’t snap a photo.

We had talked about riding our bikes to the grocery store all week but we ended up driving instead. The decision was made in part due to the weather and part in an effort to maximize our time. Next time! No excuse!

This is the second Sunday in a row I have gone grocery shopping and I should of learned my lesson last week! Everyone does their weekly shopping Sunday afternoon – you can’t even move in the aisles.

I finally stocked up on some frozen cherries! I have been putting them on my grocery list for weeks and finally bought every single bag the store had a few bags yesterday. This girl needs to try some Cherry Choco Love!

We also got some ingredients for this weeks dinners:

  • Pizza & Side Salads
  • Fajita Salads
  • Pork Chops
  • A Spinach & Bean Dish
  • Tuna Melts

Guess which ones were per request of Matt?

Once we got home Matt and I made like little kids and each had a refreshing glass of Chocolate Milk.

P1040575

There is something so satisfying about Chocolate Milk. We don’t usually buy it that often because its hard for me to resist the urge to chug the whole bottle – what a tummy ache I would have!

I was pretty hungry after we got back from the grocery store but we decided to do an early dinner so I saved myself for some Fajita Salads!

Our salads were set up on a tortilla and a bed of romaine that we topped with:

  • Sautéed peppers & onions
  • Grilled flank steak marinated in lime juice & seasonings
  • Avocado slices
  • Fresh Medium Salsa

P1040573

P1040574

So fresh & colorful! With the combo of veggies, avocado, and steak this was probably one of the best meals we’ve had in a while. And it was filling!

Nature Walk

After dinner I went on a walk with one of my friends from work through a gorgeous nature trail. We decided to meet up for some catching up and exercise before our staff meeting. I love multitasking during exercise!

Dessert-Free

Eating earlier dinners usually makes me snacky later on at night and since I stay up late it’s nearly impossible to fight the hunger! Kate being snacky + having an insatiable sweet tooth usually = me overdoing it with dessert, but last night I was satisfied until I went to bed even with my evening walk. Maybe it was the combo of healthy fats or the fact that it was a little bit more caloric that I’m used to for dinner? Who knows!

My magic formula

On the weekends my meals can stray from the standard 3 meal, 2 snack variety that most people strive to accomplish on a daily basis. I used to really be a stickler about that particular formula as I know its what’s recommended and it is the easiest way to make sure you are getting the appropriate number of fruits, veggies, whole grains, etc a day. But sometimes it just doesn’t work for me.

Since I am a college student my schedule varies so much and because of that I need to be flexible. I find myself waking up later on weekends which means that my first meal often coincides with the time period most people would eat lunch. I also work really hard to not actually eat anything in the morning until I feel ready and hungry for it.

Part of my success has been tuning into my body and listening to it’s cues for hunger. Most mornings I wake up with a growling  belly and a hankering for something oaty but when I don’t I honor my body and wait until it is ready.

Of course with weekends also comes indulgences, which I am no stranger of. I also tend to consume more alcohol on the weekends than during the week and I usually eat at a restaurant at least once over the weekend but it’s all about balance!

How does your eating schedule change once you clock out of school or work on Friday? Do you head straight to the kitchen when you wake up or do you “check in” first?

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “My Magic Formula

  1. I tend to eat first thing in the morning but if I’m not that hungry, I will only eat a little. If I wait, I’ll end up shaky and with a headache – not good. But eating intuitively is more important than sticking to a set schedule, in my opinion. You just have to find what works for you and your body and stick with it!

    And I love chocolate milk but haven’t had it in forever! You totally just gave me the hugest craving for it!

  2. I think I eat less on the weekends. During the week I get bored at work and snack more often.

    I wish I could grocery shop once a week. I need the food, but I get SO lazy. Haha.

  3. My eating schedule is pretty much always the same, but that’s because I have more free days than school days.
    Your mexican plate looks amaaaaazing. Drool worthy for sure.
    Cherries are amazing, especially post workout! Tons of potassium and tastier than a banana in my opinion

  4. That salad looks fantastic!
    My Monday-Friday eating schedule is three meals and 2 snacks. On the weekends I have a less strict schedule. I’m usually out and about and only eat 3 meals a day on Saturday and Sundays. It works okay for me. I eat less on the weekends as a result and I’m happy with that.

  5. My eating habits definitely change on the weekends! During the week I eat three meals, an afternoon snack and a dessert.

    On the weekends, I usually graze my way through the day and eat a larger dinner and dessert.

  6. I definitely snack more on the weekends…I am definitely working on it! Some weekends are better than others but I am trying….

  7. I definitely have similar eating habits to you on the weekends! I don’t end up eating breakfast until 11 or 12…but I am thinking about changing that! I think I may begin to have a small piece of fruit when I wake up on weekends because oftentimes I find myself waiting too long to eat and overeating or choosing something that is faster and less healthy to eat.

  8. I pretty much eat the same amount on the weekends as I do during the week. I pretty much eat at the same times too. No matter how hungry I am, I always eat breakfast. I’ll just make it lighter if I’m not as hungry.

  9. Hi Kate! The banana did not overpower the cherry choco bomb at all- but I only used half of it, so that’s probably why!

  10. I’m the same way on weekends, and sometimes I’m not sure what to make of it. If I have breakfast at 11 should I eat more to hold me to dinner or should I just have lunch at 3? Should I just do an early dinner and a midday snack. I seriously have this problem every weekend because my schedule is so thrown off. I’m glad that I’m not the only one that feels like this. Also, I always have breakfast whether I’m actually hungry or not because I know that I will be starving later and not have time to have a REAL breakfast—granola bars and fruit just don’t do it for me.

  11. The fajita salad looks amazing!
    I try to eat almost the same on weekends (my body doesn’t sleep in!), but I definitely end up snacking more because I’m around the kitchen more! Most days I like to do 4 meals…once I’m hungry, snacking doesn’t do anything for me. I always eat breakfast right away because I’m always hungry in the morning and I usually eat an early dinner and a really big snack (so more like a meal) a little before bed.

    I say do whatever makes YOU feel the best!

Leave a Reply

