Bummers

Happy Hump Day friends!

I don’t know about you guys but the weather is drab here in Iowa. Spring is definitely on hold right now!

In other exciting Iowa news – President Obama will be speaking at my school tomorrow about Health Care. He originally announced news about his Health Care Reform in Iowa so it only seemed fitting that he return to Iowa City this week.

Sadly due to work conflicts & Statistics (like I need any more reasons to hate this class!) I won’t be able to attend the speech. I know when I am a grandma I’ll look back and say “I wish I could of gone” but I’m hoping by not going in May I won’t be saying “I wish I passed Stats”!

I know a lot of people (bloggers in particular) stay away from political issues on their blogs – and usually for good reason. But, the health care debate is really near and dear to my heart. Regardless of your stance on the issue I encourage you to get informed on the topic! It’s your right after all!

Breakfast

Yesterday for breakfast I broke into a free sample that I got of Quaker Instant Oatmeal Hazelnut Latte flavor. Although I only occasionally drink it, I am a huge fan of coffee and coffee flavored things. Plus I’ve been a little lazy lately and instant oatmeal sounded enticing.

P1040496

Hazelnut Latte Oatmeal:

  • 1 package Quaker Instant Hazelnut Latte Oatmeal
  • 3/4 c Water
  • Sprinkle of Chia Seeds
  • Slivers of Almonds
  • Dusting of Cocoa Powder

I was worried that the flavoring may be sickeningly sweet because it smelt really strong in the package, but once I cooked it it was perfect. This flavor definitely is up there will Maple & Brown Sugar as my favorite. I am always looking for ways to eat healthy on the go and instant oatmeal makes it feasible and possible.

 

P1040497

I saved my banana from breakfast and ended up eating it after class for a snack.

Lunch

P1040500

P1040501

For lunch I dug into a salad full of romaine, red pepper, and grated carrots topped with some cottage cheese, some Ken’s Italian, & some Food Should Taste Good Jalapeno Chips.

I just found out that red peppers have more nutrients in them than their green counterpart – which is good news for me since I am not a fan of the green ones!

Do you have a favorite color pepper? Green? Yellow? Purple?!

After lunch I got cracking on my To Do list which included some important items like taking a shower and eating some cookies. I’m happy to report that I got everything done except for doing the dishes! Ahhhh!

P1040503

The longer I put doing the dishes off the harder it gets for me to actually do it. Literally right now our sink is overflowing and I can’t stand it – but I am dreading having to wash them!

Our house is pretty much in turmoil right now anyways. We have most of the new furniture assembled in the living room, but it is hardly in place.

P1040505

P1040506

There is no where to move! Can you spot the banana?

I am one of those people that gets so stressed out by mess and lack of order so for me this is hell (and all the more reason why I should be keeping the kitchen clean!). We still need to get some parts from Ikea delivered (they were out) and to return some pieces (we live 3 hours away and they wont let us return or get new pieces that were damaged by mail). So basically I’ll be living like this for a couple more weeks and cursing Ikea every single day!

On my way out the door to work I grabbed a Pink Lady and a tbsp of PB to dip. This is literally a picture of me walking out the door.

P1040508

I did have grand plans of heading to a Body Pump class after I got out of work at 8, but instead I decided to rush home to Matt and have dinner with him. My back has been a little sore lately anyways!

Matt made some TJ’s gnocchi and roasted some asparagus and when I got home I put the final touches on it – TJ’s Bruschetta and some Parm cheese.

P1040511

P1040516

Of course we rounded out the meal with some chocolate.

P1040519

Two slivers from a Dark Chocolate Orange – I went back for 1 more!

Tri

As some of you know one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to complete a Sprint Triathlon. From the get-go I have had an idea of the tri I wanted to take part in (The Pigman Sprint in Palo for you Iowans) and I have been basing my training and schedule around that date (June 5th) – bad idea.

A few days before Spring Break I went online to register for the Tri only to find out that they hit their max registration back in January! Needless to say I was bummed for a while because I don’t think I’ll be able to make another date/tri work.

Here’s why:

  • I need at least 2 solid months to train (April/May)
  • I need to be in Pennsylvania on June 10th to start my summer job
  • The majority of my weekends from now until then are full

 

What’s a girl to do?

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Bummers

  1. That’s a toughie…hmm… maybe just do a race, like a 5k or 10k that won’t take as long to train for? Either biking, swimming, or running.

    Oh wow that mess would drive me INSANE!!! I cannot stand that kind of thing either, bothers me to no end. I’m the same way with dishes too – hate doing them but can’t stand them being in the sink.

  2. Sorry completing the tri isn’t going to workout. There will be plenty of other chances when the time is right though. Don’t add stress to yourself. Because, like you, I would be stressed in a messy environment and you already have stress from that. 😉

  3. girl i need to find those latte oats! freaking yum!

  4. Is there really such a thing as purple peppers?? That would be awesome!!

    Missing out on Obama is a bummer. But I must say, I do not like him as a public speaker. He. Talks. So. Slowly. It would take four hours just for him to get to the point! 😛 It’s also very interesting seeing this whole US health care reform thing as a Canadian. Living in a world without free medicare seems so foreign to me… Well, I guess it technically IS foreign 😉

  5. when will your summer job be done? its not a tri but there is a duathlon in the twin cities in september i really want to do, september 26th. it is run 2, bike 22, run 2. here is the info: http://www.irongirl.com/Events/Bloomington.htm

    • Middle of August – Ill look into this. Im only 5 hours from the TC’s!

      • let me know what you decide. i like the 2 mile run part. the 22 mile bike ride id be fine with. its the 2 mile run at the end after doing all that id be worried about for myself 🙂 i need to see what my doctor has to say about my foot before i commit to anything right now, though.

  6. My favorite color pepper is definitely red
    Mmmm I was tempted my a caramel d-lite today in class. But now that’s inspired me to make a raw/vegan version and I can’t wait to give it a try!

  7. Kat

    Oh my, this totally made me drool.
    Orange peppers are my favorite!

  8. Orange peppers hands down! SO GOOD!! Sorry about the tri…but who says it has to be THIS year…just re-adjust and make it a goal for next year!!

  9. Coffee and oats…my heaven!

    My fave pepper is red. I can eat them like an apple….not just biting into like and apple :), but they’re so sweet it’s almost like fruit.

  10. cottage cheese is one of my favorite salad toppers! adding those chips just puts it ova the top!

  11. I love red and yellow peppers!!! I also love gnocchi, that dinner looks yummy!!!

  12. sorry about the tri, but it’s not your only chance to ever do one!!

  13. lessonstolearn

    Beautiful salad! I keep eating salads to encourage spring weather along a little faster 🙂

    I love peppers…red, yellow, and orange are my favorites. I don’t think the green ones have much flavor, but they’re cheaper, so I will get them for making stuffed peppers.

  14. Pingback: Toast to Yoga « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

