Hump Day

Good morning everyone! Happy Hump Day! This week has been flying by for me. Usually when I’m excited about an upcoming weekend or evening the days seem to drag by! Does anyone else have any exciting plans for their Spring Break or this weekend?

Breakfast

I decided on a breakfast sandwich for breakfast this morning. On my whole wheat 7 grain bagel I had some Monterrey Jack cheese, one egg, some spinach & of course some ketchup. Ketchup + eggs = a better breakfast. Pac Man shaped breakfast = best breakfast.

P1030949

SP Fries

I was feeling more snacky around lunch time than actually ready for a ‘lunch’ so I settled on some Sweet Potato Fries – which hardly classifies as ‘settling’! I usually cut my potatoes into fry form when I bake them but today I went for the circles instead, I think they cooked faster!

P1030953

Dinner

Pulled pork is one of my favorite ways to eat pork. Basically, I love it. I also love pulled pork tacos and I often get them at restaurants (like Chili’s). But I figured they were easy enough to pull of a copy cat at home.

P1030955

Pulled Pork Tacos

In the Crock Pot:

  • Pork shoulder/butt
  • 1/2 c water
  • Seasonings: Salt, Pepper, Cumin

In the Mixture (after you shred pork):

  • 1/2 c Fresh Salsa
  • 1/4 c Red Onion [diced]
  • 1/4 c Fresh Cilantro [diced]
  • Hot sauce [to taste]
  • Seasonings: Salt, Pepper, Cumin

On the Tacos:

  • Fresh cilantro
  • Mango Salsa
  • Hot sauce
  • Greek yogurt
  • Fresh salsa

P1030956

Thoughts? Overall it was pretty good. We used corn tortillas to hold the tacos & for some reason these were the driest, blandest corn tortillas I’ve ever had. Matt said that corn tortillas are usually fried – and that could be why! Overall, pretty great flavors!

Dessert

For dessert I savored a mini package of some Mini Eggs. So tasty! So seasonal! Does anyone know if Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods makes a natural knock off of my beloved eggs? I wouldn’t be surprised if they did!

P1030960

To Do

The rest of my day is jam packed! It includes:

  • Oatmeal
  • Get ready
  • Work
  • Workout
  • Errands
  • Bank
  • Work
  • Iron Chef Event!!!

 

Sorry in advanced if I’m missing from the comment section of your blog posts today – I’ll try and make up for it tomorrow!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Hump Day

  1. What’s this iron chef event? Is it on TV? I miss the food network 😦

  2. Don’t you just love how easy it is to cook with the crock pot. Especially meats and soups!

  3. lindsayruns

    that pulled pork looks great! I love NC bbq, but I am very hesitant to make pork at home….not a fan of chops. I’ll have to try this, it looks like something that would ease me into the process!

  4. Great looking meals- especially that breakfast!

  5. Um…tacos! Yes please! 🙂

  6. oh my gahhh your bagel looks AWEEESOME! and those tacos! im coming over for dinner ASAP

  7. Josie

    I look forward to reading your blog everyday! How do you get TJ products living in Iowa City? Where would you recommend shopping for healthier foods in and/or around the IC area? Thanks!

    • Josie-
      Thanks so much – I appreciate that 🙂 I end up getting Trader Joes stuff from either driving through places that have stores (I seek them out) and then stocking up on things. I end up making it to one every 2 or so months, which is not enough but will have to do for now!
      As far as your other question I think that will be a great blog topic, so Ill address that soon in an upcoming post! Thanks for the inspiration!

  8. Did you get the e-mail that I sent you yesterday?

    Sweet potato fries – yum!
    Loving your pacman breakfast 😀
    Those chocolate eggs… OMG. They are my BIGGEST weakness. seriously. I can’t keep them in the house… but they are SO good!

  9. I can inhale a whole bag of those cadbury eggs! LOVE them. I prefer the creme filled ones, but the plain chocolate is delish, too

Leave a Reply

