And we have a winner!

Word on the street is that it is supposed to be 50 degrees out tomorrow! I’m in a rush to break out my bikini & flip flops so I’m going to make this post speedy!

Breakfast

Per Kath’s recommendation I made some overnight oats. I followed her formula almost to a T with the exception of banana.

Kath’s Overnight Oats:

  • 1/3 c Oats
  • 1/3 c Milk
  • 1/3 c Plain Greek Yogurt
  • Pinch of Salt
  • Sprinkle of Chia Seeds

Toppings:

  • Sweetened Coconut
  • Harry & David Strawberry Jam
  • TJ’s Almond Butter

P1030914 

At work I snacked on a Honey Voskos Greek Yogurt with some Annie’s Chocolate Bunny Grahams on top. It was my first time trying Voskos & I really liked it. I had a naturally sweetened taste and the consistency rocked – plus I had a coupon!

P1030915 

Lunch

For lunch I was craving a taco salad so that’s exactly what I made! I seasoned and cooked some ground chicken and placed it on top of a bed of mixed greens. I added some crushed blue corn tortilla chips, some monterrey jack cheese, and a dollop each of fresh salsa & greek yogurt.

P1030925

             P1030924

I guess I’m some what picky when it comes to my preference in mixed greens, but for some reason I was hating this container of Mixed Greens. Even after I washed them it tasted like I was eating dirty lettuce. Yuck! Maybe I’m not washing my produce enough?

Do you wash your produce? How do you wash it? Soap? Water? Produce cleaner?

After lunch I had two Belgian chocolates that I got in Brussels. Neuhaus has some of the best tasting chocolate around!

P1030944

Tasting Plate

I had a lovely tasting plate as my afternoon snack yesterday. I paired a pear with my last Laughing Cow cheese wedge and a carrot with some Almond Butter. I love choices!

P1030943

Dinner

I bought some Red Snapper the other day and I had no idea how I was going to prepare it. I got to brainstorming and practically had to beg Matt to put on his coat and head outside to grill it up – but he did! I’m glad he agreed because it was probably one of the best fish meals we’ve had at home.

While Matt was outside grilling up the fish I started on a quick mango salsa using some of the ingredients we had on hand.

Mango Salsa

  • 1 Mango [diced]
  • 1/8 Red Onion [diced]
  • 1/8 c Fresh Cilantro [chopped]
  • Juice of 1/2 a Lime
  • How to: Dice the mango and red onion according to your size preference. Add in fresh chopped cilantro and lime juice. Allow to sit or serve right away!

P1030932

We served our salsa on top of our grilled Red Snapper and it was fabulous. I usually put some sort of pepper in my fruit salsa (usually jalapeno) but sometimes you got to improvise! Honestly, I love spicy but I didn’t miss the heat in this salsa.

P1030936      P1030935

After dinner I headed back out to my Monday night yoga class. I had a great practice and even got a few of my burning questions answered. I often find myself wondering about certain poses or positioning while in class and then forget them once practice is over and I have the chance to act the instructor – but I remembered a few from today!

Dessert

When I got home I had 1/2 a Vanilla Skinny Cow & 1/2 a Chocolate Skinny Cow for dessert.

P1030926

Am I the only person who loves chocolate and vanilla but prefers them separately? Soft serve is my favorite type of ice cream/frozen yogurt and I love chocolate and vanilla but swirl is a completely different flavor to me. Of course its still tasty – but different!

Giveaway Winner

Thanks to everyone who entered to win some Chia Seeds!

The winner is…

#14 Jessica at The Process of Healing

[…] out this Chia seed giveaway on What Kate Ate! You guys know my love of some Chia […]

Congrats girl! Send me an email at WhatKateAte@gmail.com so I can send the Chia Seeds your way!

Did I mention?

I’m official a Foodbuzz Featured Publisher now!

I’m using Windows Live Writer these days!

And it’s supposed to be 50 degrees tomorrow!

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “And we have a winner!

  1. I love oatmeal inspirations! And I wash most of my produce, but just a quick rinse… sometimes I even forget to wash my apples when I pack them in my lunch, but I don’t worry much about it.

    I just stumbled upon your blog after reading Iowa Girl Eats and I can tell I’ll be following you… you both have similar styles and recipes. Yum! These also inspired my new blog if you want to check it out!

  2. Yay for 50 degrees! I love love mango anything, I have been meaning to try mango salsa for so long now!

  3. Yay, thank you SO much girl!!! As much as I love chia seeds… i’m ecstatic!!!

    The red snapper sounds absolutely amazing! I haven’t had that specific fish in ages. And fish like that goes so amazingly well with fruit salsas.
    I wash my produce in water but sometimes I’m a slacker when it comes things like grapes… yeah, I know. And lettuce is a real pain to wash.

    I also love both chocolate and vanilla but I like them separate. Sometimes if they are together, the chocolate totally overpowers the vanilla and you can’t really taste the vanilla.

  4. live writer is life changing!
    call me a gross pig…but I don’t wash my produce!! ew, I know. But I get all organic!! I’m never sick!! God made dirt and dirt don’t hurt!!

  5. totally jelous of jessica!! but happy for her! yay!!
    your oats look great! and that salsa? i LOVE mango!

  6. I’ve been sitting on the Foodbuzz stuff for a few months now. I can’t decide if I want to join…. Are you happy that you did?

    I simply wash my produce in water. Probably not thoroughly enough…

    • for now im pretty excited/happy about it. there are a few regulations they have, but the are reasonable. i am pumped to be part of the foodbuzz community & also to take part in events & reviews. plus being paid aint paid! ill let you know if my opinion changes though!

  7. I love Voskos; you really need to try their honey vanilla bean! It’s out of this world
    And the coconut on top of your oatmeal looks so delicious!

    • ill keep my eye open for honey vanilla bean – it sounds fabulous. my friend and i are going to a local iron chef where some really awesome local restaurants compete with a secret ingredient to win iron chef. of course they also serve appetizers! we dont have cable either, i miss food network big time.

  8. YAY! Congrats to Jessica!

  9. LindsayRuns

    Did you check the date? Perhaps the lettuce is old. I use a mac, but I’d love to have something like live writer, posts take so long to write!!

    • i didnt check but i dont think it was old – the texture was fresh but the taste…not so much! i wonder if there is a program for macs – honestly i was spending at least an hour uploading photos to wordpress it was ridiculous. now i have more time to comment on other blogs – like your own!

  10. Karina

    I love Voskos! The honey is me favorite, but I have never tried it with Graham crackers. Good Idea!

Leave a Reply

