Minute Mania

Hello friends! Welcome to another glorious week. I don’t know about you guys but preparing for all of my Spring Break plans has definitely begun and my to-do list for this week is about a mile long! Sometimes getting ready for vacation or trips can be so stressful. At least I’ll be relaxing when I’m done or I’d need another vacation!

Breakfast

Matt and I started our Sunday afternoon off right with some DVR and some bagels for brunch. We ended up eating around noon since our Sunday mornings also tend to include some serious commitment to sleeping in.

I am so glad I got some bakery fresh bagels instead of the standard Thomas’-like bagel. There’s something so special and gourmet feeling about a real bagel. You know what I mean?

I decided on half a toasted whole wheat 7 grain bagel that I topped with a smear of almond butter, ½ a banana, & some chia seeds.

Chia Seeds

Speaking of chia seeds you only have until tomorrow at noon to enter to win a 1 pound bag from ChiaSeedsDirect.

Dinner

We ran a few afternoon errands and began Operation: Ollie on a Diet. Then we decided to have an early dinner. I found a recipe for Potsticker Snap Pea Salad on Real Simple’s website a few weeks ago and I knew it would be a perfect meal for us. I followed the recipe almost to a t – I did omit the bean sprouts and used a smaller ratio of soy sauce to sesame oil. Gotta change something, right?

Real Simple’s recipes always fit my criteria because they are real simple, have fresh ingredients, and usually contain a few ingredients.

This was definitely a hit!

Minute Mania

I was offered an extra shift at work last night and I couldn’t quite justify passing down the money so I could spent money on a yoga class. I still wanted to fit in some exercise though so I came up with some of my favorite moves that require no equipment and I whipped through a speedy 10 minute set that included one minute each of the following:

  • Crunches
  • Plank
  • Wall Sit
  • Wall push ups
  • Squats
  • Side plank – left
  • Side plank – right
  • Lunges
  • Boat pose
  • Locus pose

Handstand

I ended my impromptu workout with 5 separate passes at headstand. Headstands and handstands really scare me but I’m determined to master them both. Truthfully it is more of a mental block than a physical block, but I know that I can work towards perfecting the poses with some patience and confidence.

Snack

I had 1.5 servings of cottage cheese with some scallions once I got home. I was hungry from our early dinner. I kept my hands out of the candy drawer though!

What aspect of fitness challenges you the most? Any tips?

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Minute Mania

  1. Spring break feels so far off for me; I don’t know how I could begin to plan for that one

  2. Ooo, potstickers. I think I might have to make some myself.

    The most challenging thing for me is being able to handle my own body weight. I can squat, but I can’t do a real push-up, pull-up or tricep dip. Going to keep working towards those until I can do at least 1 of the 3. 3 for 3 would be the best!

    Have fun on your trip! Deep dish pizza plz!

  3. That recipe looked amazing! I have one for general’s chicken that I’ve heard is supposed to be nearly identical to takeout – except much healthier!! I can’t even imagine doing a head/hand stand. I can’t even get into that one bird (or frog) yoga pose!

    Hope you have an awesome night!

  4. Yay for a spring break trip! I am working all week (this is my spring break). yay. But hey… money is nice.

  5. Speed really challenges me. I’ve never had it. I’ve also lacked arm strength for my entire life. I don’t know if I’d ever be able to one of those yoga headstands!

  6. I love that you used the chia seeds as sprinkles. Looks like such a yummy bagel!

  7. I’ve never thought to put my chia seeds on my bagels. I hope you find the Galaxy Granola, I think it sold out super fast. Try emailing the company directly.

Leave a Reply

