TGIF

Glad to see you guys are hyped up about the Chia Seeds Direct giveaway! Remember you have until Tuesday to enter to win a 2 pound bag of Chia Seeds!

Thursday

We spent a ton of money on groceries the day after we returned from our vacation. Of course you always spend a little bit more when you return from being away from home, but then Matt and I both got sick which required us to buy soup, liquids, sherbet!, Emergen-C…you get the picture.

Half way through this week I decided that we didn’t really need to go to the grocery store again until the weekend and we could make do with what we had on hand.

We had a few fruits and veggies left and because we went out to eat more than once I had a few meals that we planned but never executed left from the week before. The meals were on the verge of getting a little wacky – think no veggies and boxed products!

Breakfast

Breakfast consisted of banana-less oatmeal, which I actually think I prefer. I think they key to great tasting oatmeal (at least for me) is sans banana and with some milk instead of 100% water.

The Base (for 2):

1 c Oats

1 c Milk

1 c Water

½ c Cottage Cheese

1 tbsp Chia Seeds

The Toppings:

Golden Raisins

TJ’s Crunchy Almond Butter

Snack

2 kiwi with the fur and 1 colby-jack string cheese.

 

Bruschetta Lover

For lunch I ate the best pita I have ever made. I took ½ a whole wheat pita and stuffed it with a few tablespoons of Trader Joes Bruschetta and some Monterrey Jack cheese and melted it. It was heavenly and my new favorite food. 

On the side I had half of my last orange. I ended up going back for the second half while I was watching Burn Notice.

Dinner

For dinner I made a dish I had been dreaming of making for a while. I was inspired by the wonderful Kelly who made a similar dish a few weeks ago. I wrapped ½ a salmon filet and a tablespoon of TJs bruschetta in some filo dough and baked it.

I loved the idea of it and even the first few bites but then I got kind of sick of the taste of salmon after a while. Matt felt the same way – he didn’t even eat his whole piece! It’s strange how your tastes for things can change. We used to eat a ton of salmon and now it just kind of has that eh flavor for us. I loved the idea of wrapping the fish so I think next time I’ll opt to use some cod.

   

I still have some filo dough left to use up – have any good recipes that call for it?

Had some chocolate for dessert. This times 2!

Enjoy your Friday night!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “TGIF

  1. Haha, what a change! Today was the first time in a long time I actually did put a banana in my oats. I prefer plain or pumpkin, to be honest. The key for me for good oats is salt

  2. Yum…those oats looked awesome!!! 🙂

    Your salmon rendition sounds amazing!!! 🙂 I hope you are feeling better honey! 🙂

  3. Oats sans banana isn’t bad! And I always make mine with half milk..makes a big difference!

  4. I love phyllo dough! You can use the rest to wrap up cheese (brie!) and bake, or put a small square of chocolate in the middle of some, bake and dust with powdered sugar:)

    • is phyllo & filo the same thing?! i couldnt figure out if i was spelling it wrong. i love baked brie – so tasty! ill haev to try that chocolate idea, sounds amazing! you know im a sucker for anything chocolate.

  5. Yumm.. I think the salmon sounds great! I love it though. One time, I wrapped salmon in puff pastry. OMG. Very rich but incredible.

    • i almost ended up doing that because i could not find the phyllo/filo dough at the grocery store! ive had weird luck finding things lately – i couldnt find potstickers yesterday! what gives?

Leave a Reply

