March Madness

Happy March!


I don’t know about you guys but the weather finally seems to be breaking in Iowa. The snow is melting and I don’t see my breath when I step outside – sounds like progress! I think Spring is coming after all! Hooray!

Breakfast Lunch

We slept in really late on Sunday (read: until 11:15!) so when we woke up we decided to go with more of a lunch than a breakfast.

I made Chicken Sloppy Joes & some roasted zucchini.

 

 

It was my first time using ground chicken and I prefer it a lot more than ground turkey. Ground turkey always seems so blah and dry to me, but the chicken was a little bit tastier and far less dry. It could totally be due to the sauce I made to accompany it with, but Ill give my final thoughts when I use the second half of the package.

Speaking of packages, do you read your packaging before you commit to buying a product? Do you take words like natural and healthy with a grain of salt? I’m interested in all of your views – I’m going to chat about that topic later this week and express my thoughts on the subject then!

I broke for a handful of chocolate chips while we crossed some To-Do’s off our list.

Matt & I had a productive Sunday. It included:

  1. Catching up on our laundry
  2. Sorting Goodwill piles to donate
  3. Tidying up the house
  4. Lounging
  5. Catching up on Burn Notice & Watching SawVI
  6. Baking a massive Spaghetti Squash

Spaghetti Squash takes a while to bake so you can get a lot of stuff done while it’s in the oven.
You can have a snack of ½ a banana with some almond butter.

 

You can harass your dogs by taking millions of photos of them.

 

You can dream about the day when you will be able to enjoy a drink, plant a garden or have a conversation again in your backyard.

I helped cut, gut, and bake the squash and then Matt made dinner. We had the squash with some Spicy jarred marinara with some sautéed onions added in. I love my onions! I topped my delicious bowl with some grated Parm.

   

   

March Goals

I had originally planned to host a 30 Day Shred Challenge throughout the month of March. But after not getting the response I was hoping for I decided to revamp my March Fitness goals.

As of the last few months I’ve really began to embrace yoga in a fresh and new way. I love the benefits of practicing and it’s amazing to see how quickly you progress in poses and with breathing. Honestly, if I had the money and if I wasn’t planning on completing a Triathlon in June as one of my goals in 2010 yoga would be all that I would be doing for exercise right now.

I have always had the desire to complete a Triathlon and as excited as I am to cross it off my Fitness Bucket List, I am also somewhat dreading having to follow a training schedule. But, if I know anything it’s that you can’t enter a new routine with that type of attitude! And that’s exactly why I want to revamp my current workouts just a tad.

Right now my workout schedule looks like this:

Monday: Yoga

Tuesday: Cardio/Yoga at home

Wednesday: Yoga

Thursday: Swim

Friday: Rest

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: Hot yoga

I have been slacking on cardio and I need to be getting in better shape since the start of my Triathlon training is not too far away. It doesn’t look too different, but the intensity will be different. I really want to begin my Tri training with a little bit more confidence in my running (aka I want to actually be able to run/jog instead of feeling like I’m going to die).

So here’s my new schedule:

Monday: Yoga

Tuesday: Swim or Bike

Wednesday: Yoga

Thursday: Walk/Run

Friday: Rest [unless I’m taking Sunday off]

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: Hot yoga

National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day

It’s National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day which means almost all of the people who are reading this have something to celebrate today! What are your plans for the Nation’s most underrated holiday?

Photo

Since it is National PB Lover’s Day tell me: What’s your fave brand of PB and/or what’s your fave way to eat Peanut Butter?

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “March Madness

  1. I love Naturally Nutty, but it’s a bit hard to come by. For something simpler, PB&Co. is really great 🙂
    When I’m buying a product, all the labels are swell, but I head straight for the ingredients list. That’s the only way to know what’s really in there. Except eggs, in which case I buy the most labelrific ones I can find(even though I’m pretty sure most of the nutrition claims are BS)

  2. Yes, I do take the words natural and healthy with a grain of salt. I really don’t believe anything that is on a label or package. I have a marketing degree so I know all about how companies will spin the truth to get you to purchase the product.

    With that said, not all companies are misleading with labels. I just think the customer has to be educated and not just believe everything being thrown at them.

    Growing up my dad always mixed peanut butter and syrup together. We would then spread it on bread or toast as a treat:)

  3. This is so funny! I saw the title of your post on twitter (I’m whatmegansmakng), and I had to click over. I just made new workout goals for myself (starring 30 day shred ironically enough!) and I’m calling it march madness! haha it drives my husband crazy, but I’ve made goals for him too 🙂 we think alike!

    • thats too funny! good luck on your 30 day shred challenge. part of the reason i cancelled mine was because my boyfriend didnt want to follow through with the goals i made for him! we are too alike 🙂 i love it

  4. I’m so intrigued by hot yoga! I should find a place to do that in the metro. My favorite PB is White Chocolate Wonderful from PB and Co. It has changed my world.

  5. Oh PB, LOVE it!!! Do I have to pick a favorite? So hard. I like Whole Foods plain creamy peanut butter..YUM!! And PB & Co.’s Mighty Maple is insanely good! And your spaghetti squash looks awesome…!

    Yoga is great, so good for you. I wish I could do it right now!

  6. pb-STRAIGHT UP OUT OF THE JAR!!
    aww that doggie looks like my doggie!!

  7. Love productive days!

    Love spaghetti squash!

    Love your dog!

    Wow, I guess I am just full of love today.

  8. I honestly don’t think I can pick a favorite!! I love the roasted fresh ground variety from whole foods, I love flavored PB’s from pb loco and pb&co, I love chunky pb, salted, unsalted, pb with flax, you name it sister, I love it!! What’s not to love though??
    I love it on oats and english muffins best of all 🙂

  9. I love Earth Balance Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter, I am completely addicted now. I just picked up some dark chocolate pb on Sunday, but haven’t had the chance to try it yet. Could I see a dessert in my future? I say yes!!

  10. I love PB…on anything!! haha! My 2 favorite creations are a tomato and PB sandwich and a swiss cheese and PB sandwich. I know it sounds odd but both are so flipping good! PROMISE!!

    I do look at the labels on packages before buying a product but I am usually looking at Serving Size, Calories, saturated/trans fats, and sodium content. I also eat gluten free so I am always looking to see if the product is GF.

Leave a Reply

