Rewind

 [Rewind to Thursday]

Breakfast

Thursday morning I started off with a bowl a filling bowl of oatmeal.

  

Base:

½ c oats

½ c soy milk

½ c water

Toppings:

1/2 banana

Tbsp pb

Maple syrup

Brown sugar

Chia seeds

My appetite has been kind of off since I’ve been sick, but I’ve been trying to listen to my body and give it what it wants. And it was screaming dairy.

I had a hunk [2 if you include Matt] of Monterrey Jack for a snack and then I headed back to the kitchen before I took off for work to make a STG [Smoothie To Go] which turned into a SIAB [Smoothie In A Bowl].

Smoothie Fail

Jay Robb Vanilla Whey Protein

1 container Dannon Plain Greek

½ frozen banana

Juice of a Cara Cara Orange

A few ice cubes

       

Results? Blah! I ended up added some honey and some Special K to doctor it up and then some dark chocolate chips since I knew chocolate would remedy the situation.

I really love smoothies, but I tend to stay away from them because I hate wasting things if I mess up the smoothie. Luckily, I was able to salvage this one but it still tasted far from good! True Life: I suck at making smoothies.

Does anyone have any rocking smoothie recipes that I can try out? I’m open to just about anything – bring on the spinach, kale & pumpkin!

Snacks Part Dos

At work I chugged some water and enjoyed a Cara Cara from home. Does anyone else say Cara-Cara Orange like they say Gulla-Gulla Island?

I was still hungry a little while after [SIAB did not hold me over] so I raided the vending machine and found these tasty babies:

Dinner

Matt got to work on dinner before I got home. On the menu: Brussels & Annie’s Mac & Cheese.

Ally this recipe is for you:

1 pound Brussels sprouts

½ c onions [diced]

2 slices turkey bacon

How to: Add diced onions to a preheated pan and allow to caramelize. Meanwhile, rinse Brussels well and remove outer leaves that look worn, torn, or nasty. Add Brussels sprouts to a pot of boiling water and allow them to cook and soften. When ready add the Brussels to the pan with the onions and allow them to brown up. Add sliced turkey bacon to the mixture. Season with salt and pepper.

 

Served with some Annie’s Aged Cheddar – it was a masterpiece.

       

After dinner I relaxed a little and then took another pass at this week’s free class from Yoga Today.

[Rewind to Friday]

Friday morning I woke up around noon to two barking Dachshunds who apparently had a new friend.

Say hello to Pepper.

 

Pepper [sans collar and owner] hung around/cried for attention and love in our yard for the majority of the morning until I finally let him inside. With some guidance from some friends on Twitter, I finally packed him up in the car and took him to the Humane Society to see if he had a microchip.

Hooray for microchips! I was able to bring Pepper home safe and sound and then I hit the grocery store for some sick essentials.

  1. Sherbet
  2. Emergen-C
  3. OJ

The rest of my morning and afternoon consisted of the above until I finally forced myself to eat something substantial around dinner time.

We made a pizza on a WW Boboli crust with Monterrey Jack, Parm, & zucchini.

 

I ended up burning some mini chocolate chip cookies that I attempted to make. But they were cookies, so I ate a few anyways!

Who am I to turn down chocolate chip cookies, burnt or not?!

Im off to do some shopping with my best! Enjoy your Saturday loves!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Rewind

  1. Bacons, brussels, and mac and cheese sounds like comfort food to the max

  2. ooo GREAT eats girl! i seriously suck at making smoothies-ive just given up! haha. and NO i hvaent found chia seeds! its soo sad! im dying to!

  3. Yeah your mac and cheese sounds amazing!!!!
    As for the smoothies, don’t give up!! My go to smoothie recipe is 1/2 banana, 1/2 cup Greek yogurt plain, packet of stevia (sometimes need it, sometimes dont), and ice. SO good. Try this and add things to the basic recipe like
    -spinach
    -strawberries
    -blueberries
    -peaches
    -peanut butter
    (just not all together haha). I also like to add chia seeds, POM juice, xanthan gum, and/or flax seeds.
    This recipe works for me.. it’s thick enough and filling with the protein and thickness from the greek yogurt.

    OR try this pumpkin pie smoothie…
    1/2 banana
    1/4 cup ish of plain pumpkin
    lots of cinnamon
    stevia or other sweetener
    1/2 cup milk OR yogurt
    ice

    and you can top it with some crushed graham crackers… holy yum!

  4. That dog is seriously cute. I remember finding a dog once in my backyard when I was a child. Good memories! That was the closest I ever got to having a dog. 🙂

    How do you mess up your smoothies? I do not think I EVER had a bad one (from anyone). Now I am worried that maybe I just like anything, even when it tastes bad. haha I just posted a smoothie recipe on my blog. It is super simple, you could try that.

  5. Thanks for the brussels shout out! Yes, that is a recipe I’ve been wanting to try forever…I just haven’t done it yet! The brussel sprouts didn’t look good the last time I was at the store:(

    A smoothie I just made the other night for my hubby and I was – blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, skim milk, and a pinch of sugar. Yum!

Leave a Reply

