ABC’s

P is for Positivity

Thanks for all of your positive comments to my Positively Positive post a few days ago. Im glad so many of you are vowing to take better care of yourselves mentally. As food and fitness bloggers we all often concentrate on the physical aspects of our health whether its about nourishing our bodies with wholesome eats or by logging in exercise to keep up energized and fit. Its easy to overlook the importance of taking care of ourselves mentally as well, but its so important and Im glad you all agree!

Yesterday I had a beautiful bowl of oatmeal to kick start my day and it included a new special seed!

       

In the pan:

  1. 1/2 c Oatmeal
  2. 1/2 c Soy Milk
  3. 1/2 c Water
  4. 1/2 Banana
  5. Ch-chia seeds

Toppings:

  1. Brown Sugar
  2. Walnuts
  3. Golden Raisins
  4. TJ’s Almond Butter

C is for Chia Seeds

Chia seeds rock. Youve heard about their benefits on every other blog imaginable so I wont bore  you with what you already know (like they are 20% protein & have more Omega-3 fatty acid than any other plant food, yes even more than flax seeds!). But, I will tell you that Im a believer of this little Superfood. Con: They are a little bit expensive, but its because they are so small and you barely use any each time you grab a scoop. Pro: They are like flax seeds in the sense that you barely notice they are there (in a good way) and they have virtually no taste but their pay off is enormous. They add a little pop to anything you put them in and like flax they can accompany anything (yogurt, cereal, baking, ice cream?). Chia Seeds for President!

S is for Snack Plate

 

Lunch was broken up into 3 components: cheese & crackers, a Pink Lady, & some Dannon Greek yogurt.

This was my first time seeing Dannon Greek in the grocery store and consequently my first time tasting it.

Con: It didnt have the thick Greek like consistency that I expect from Greek yogurt. It wasnt as thin as usual yogurt, but it was no Fage/Oikos/Chobani. It also is not organic, which may not be a deal breaker for some, but I try hard to keep the majority of our dairy to organic (with the exception of cheese – which I need to work on!).

Pro: It costs half the price of Fage/Oikos/Chobani – I got this one for $1.15 I believe. The taste was pretty good. It wasnt a honey mix in but more of already intergrated flavor and I really enjoyed it.

K is for Kate

For an afternoon snack I had a mini bowl of Special K Yogurt & Berries with some soy milk. Dont judge – I like Special K & its less than $2 a box!

S is for Salad

The other day I was inspired by Lauren and a beautiful salad she made recently so I recreate one of my own! It contained:

  • Mixed greens
  • Red Onion
  • Feta
  • Walnuts
  • Dried Cranberries
  • Sun Dried Tomato Chicken Sausage

It was one of the best salads ever. I did mean to add an apple to the mix but I didnt remember & I didnt miss it either! I packed it up with a tbsp of Italian to take to work and I ate every single bit! Yum!

B is for Beggers

Other dog owners: Do your dogs sit in the kitchen and stare at you while you prepare or cook food and hope that some yummy morsel falls to the floor for them to devour? Ernie & Ollie are so pathetic! Ernie will sit and wait patiently for a end of a carrot or sweet potato & Ollie literally sits at my feet praying that something drops his way.

    

Cute? Yes. Withering away to nothing? No.

Y is for Yoga

My Wednesday night yoga class concentrates on linking breathe with postures & poses which is a completely new idea to me. For so long I have been muscling through poses and neglecting to tune into my body and may day to day needs. Until recently I didnt realize how bad I was at breathing!

After my yoga class I had an unpictured cup of hot cocoa x 2 & Matt and I shared a mini bag of Mini Eggs while we catched up on Lost. I ❤ Seasonal Candy & Matthew Fox!

G is for Giveaway

Dont forget you only have 1 more day to enter the 30 Day Shred DVD Giveaway if you havent done so already!

IATW is for Its almost the weekend!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “ABC’s

  1. I have GOT to try Chia seeds…

  2. Dang, now I really am the last person to try chia!

  3. Yes, our dogs are the same, but they are MUCH bigger than yours, so I usually shoe them off to their “beds”, otherwise I trip over them!

  4. Love Chia Seeds! So glad that you discovered their awesomeness! Try them in yogurt… the result is amazing.
    I’ve seen that Yoplait in the stores before but I was hesitant about it after I tried the Dannon Greek Yogurt. Chobani, Fage, and Oikos are super expensive but yogurt is one of those things that is just worth it to me.

    I actually like Special K too.. so sue me! But I tend to eat it for dessert or a snack because it doesn’t feel me up for breakfast.
    Cute puppies!

Leave a Reply

