Positively Positive

So many bloggers are devoting their time and energy into well thought out posts and series on the topics of body image, eating disorders, and self love this week and their inspiration, tips, and stories couldnt be more well received by me.

Sometimes it seems like the more weight I lose the more I struggle with my body image and I find myself being more critical than I ever have before of my body. In fact, until I had the Ah Ha moment when I decided to change my life, I rarely thought about losing weight. I had accepted my body for what it was and what it wasn’t. I didn’t think about food, exercising, or my weight all that much and when I did it came and went and I didn’t dwell on it.

I spend too much time comparing, contrasting, and beating myself up about my body. I feel guilt over things that I eat, not going to the gym, or because I havent already met expectactions I put in place for myself – all of that needs to change.

I’ve made some huge strides in changing my life and although I’m not done yet, I still have plenty to celebrate.

I can’t think of a better combination of circumstances than now to commit to positive self talk once and for all.

For the next 7 days I vow to:

      Concentrate on 1 positive thing about myself that is not physical per day.

  1. I work hard to accomplish my goals
  2. I’m a good mother to Ernie & Ollie
  3. I am a supportive girlfriend
  4. I am caring towards the environment
  5. I’m a fun aunt
  6. I make people laugh
  7. I take pleasure in small, everyday things

     Write down and counteract any Fat Talk with some Positive Talk.

     Tell 1 women in my life each day why they are beautiful to me. Like my mom.

Not only is she beautiful on the outside but she is on the inside as well. She encouraging, motivating, and supportive and has been my whole life. Even now from 1/2 way across the country she continues to be the most important lady in my life!

On the topic of POSITIVE TALK:

I am home from vacation! Im working on getting back in the swing of things, but tomorrow expect some food blogging (have you missed it!?) and a quick recap of our travels – think photos, food, and fun!

A special thanks to the wonderful women who took some time out of their busy schedule to guest blog for me while I was away!

Giveaway! Do you want to win Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred? You still have time to enter to win.

Visit Trading Up Downtown for my NuVal Quick Guide guest post!

See ya tomorrow! Hope your Monday is happy!

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Positively Positive

  1. Just remember… In Peter Pan, the only way the kids could fly w/ pixie dust was by thinking good thoughts. 🙂

    I think it’s a great idea to find lots of things you love about yourself on the inside. Take a break from thinking about outward appearances.

  2. Such positivity–I love it! I hope it spreads all over the blogworld

  3. such a beautiful post!!
    i love this-you are awesome!

  4. LOVE IT!!! Positive thinking is the best medicine!!!

  5. Gosh I love this post! Love it! I think that focusing on positive things about ourselves is so very, very important. I’m too critical of myself too… and we shouldn’t be. Our bodies are amazing!!! And perfect, just the way they are 😀

  6. Meg

    Great plan on the positive talk! And I look forward to hearing about your trip…hope you had a great time!

  7. great way to look at things! i’ve been doing a lot of bad mouthing myself and for what reason??? u are so right.

  8. You’re too cute. Love yourself 🙂

  9. I seriously need to bookmark this post, I SO need constant reminders about the positive talk vs. negative talk. Thank you for the reminder!!

  10. Pingback: ABC’s « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

