Guest Post: Ally's Pumpkin, Banana, & Yogurt Muffins

Hi everyone!
 
My name is Ally and I’m from Sweet & Savory!  Kate has graciously accepted my guest post for the day.  Honestly, I wish I was the one on a great vacation and not here in Iowa guest posting….but you have to take what you can get:)
 
I’m a stay-at-home-mom to our 5 month old son, Drake.  He lights up my days (and sometimes my nights!), and honestly I truly love being with him everyday.  Here’s a little bit of my background….
 
I grew up in Iowa and have somehow stayed in Iowa.  To some that may be a prison sentence, but I wouldn’t have it any other way!  I graduated from the University of Northern Iowa with a degree in Electronic Media and Journalism back in 2003.  To this day, I still haven’t quite “used” my degree, but I have had some jobs that dabble in it.  I’ve held two marketing jobs, a couple of banking jobs (ugh!), and now as I said I’m staying home. 
 
In an ideal world my job would be stay-at-home-mom/cookbook author/full-time food blogger.  I guess I’ve got 2 out of the 3, huh?  My hope is after my first full year of food blogging I’ll be able to compile all my recipes into a cookbook.  Who wants to buy my first copy?
 
So…on to my cooking.  I don’t remember a time that I’ve not cooked or baked.  I remember helping my mom growing up and gradually as I got older, I did more.  I would have to say my style is family cooking with a somewhat healthy emphasis.  Originally I had planned an elaborate meal for you guys.  But, when you have a child, things change quickly!  Two days later after a cold, an ear infection, tons of snow, and little time, I’ve changed the menu.  Hopefully you’re not disappointed!
 
This simple breakfast item, or snack if you will, is to-die-for.  It’s my idea for a great dump and mix muffin.  And healthy too!  I sure hope you enjoy!
 
Pumpkin, Banana & Yogurt Muffins
 
1 1/2 c. flour
1/3 c. brown sugar
1 c. flax seed
1/2 t. salt
1 1/4 t. baking soda
1 T. cinnamon
1/2 t. pumpkin pie spice
2 small individual sized containers Yoplait low-fat vanilla yogurt
1/4 c. canola oil
2 egg whites
1/2 can pumpkin
1 mashed banana
*You can make any variations to this muffin.  I often will add fresh blueberries or raspberries, instead of the pumpkin.  The key is to use what you have!


 
Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray muffin liners with non-stick spray.  Mix all wet ingredients and then add dry ingredients.  Do not over mix.  Fill muffin liners 3/4 full.  This will make 12 large muffins.  Bake for 18-20 minutes and remove immediately from pan to cool.


 
I often make these on a Sunday or at the beginning of the week, so we are stocked for breakfasts and lunches for a few days.  Another great breakfast/snack item I make on Sunday are my Homemade Granola Bars.  Check those out too!
 
Well….as I finish this I am dreaming of where Kate is right now.  I sure hope she is sun bathing with a drink in hand!
 
Thanks for reading and I hope you all can visit my site Sweet & Savory soon!
 
Ally

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Guest Post: Ally's Pumpkin, Banana, & Yogurt Muffins

  1. Those sound fantastic!! I love muffins and pumpkin muffins to top it all off..yum!

  2. I love the cookbook idea! I was working on a bunch of behind the scenes stuff on my blog yesterday and saw a tip from Blogger that they help you make your blog into a book. I might take them up on that offer in the future too! It’d be a cool thing to have for keepsake and give as presents to family members!

    These muffins look delicious! I’m not one for being an experimental baker, but I love the flexibility of these!

  3. YUM! Those muffins look fantastic! I will need to try those out!
    Thanks for the recipe!

  4. What yummy breakfast treats! I like the combo of banana and pumpkin.

  5. I love pumpkin.. especially in muffins. I will definitely try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

