Guest Post: Shrimp Pad Thai

Hi everyone! My name is Jessica and I recently started my own blog, The Process of Healing, and What Kate Ate has been a huge inspiration for me and a favorite since I came across it. So first of all, many thanks to Kate for allowing me to do this guest post for her!
Up until about a month ago, I had only had Thai food one time in my life and I was not a fan, though I cannot even remember what I had. So when a friend took me out to a Thai restaurant recently and claimed that they had the Best Pad Thai ever, I was slightly skeptical. But I am a big believer in trying everything once so I tried it. And lo and behold, he was right. And in that moment began my newfound love of Pad Thai.
And what does any foodie who loves to cook do once they find an amazing dish? Try it at home, of course! I came across this delicious and easy sounding recipe for Simplified Pad Thai Shrimp from Recipe Girland I knew that I had to give it a try.

 For this dish, you will need:
8 ounces thick rice stick noodles
¼ cup fresh lime juice
1/3 cup water
3 Tbs fish sauce
1 Tbs unseasoned rice vinegar
3 Tbs brown sugar
4 Tbs vegetable oil, divided
¾ lb medium (40/50) shrimp, peeled and deveined
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 large eggs, beaten lightly
salt
6 Tbs chopped unsalted roasted peanuts
3 cups bean sprouts, well rinsed
5 whole scallions, sliced thinly
1 medium lime, cut into wedges
½ cup fresh cilantro, chopped
The first step is to soak your rice noodles in hot water for 20 minutes until tender. These are the rice noodles that I used.

Your noodles will look like this once they are softened and drained.

Meanwhile, you mix the lime juice, water, fish sauce, rice vinegar, brown sugar, and 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil. Also, measure and prep the rest of the ingredients while the noodles soak.
All my ingredients lined up and ready to go.



(Prepping your ingredients beforehand is crucial because you don’t want to be scrambling around (like the eggs..haha..ok that was a lame joke) while you have a super hot pan on your hands and food that demands your complete attention. Having everything measured out and chopped will greatly benefit you.)
Pat your shrimp dry with paper towels. Heat 1 more Tablespoon of oil in 12-inch nonstick skillet over high heat until just smoking. Add shrimp, spread into single layer, and cook without stirring for 1 minute. (I also seasoned mine with a touch of salt and pepper)


Stir shrimp and continue to cook until spotty brown and just pink around the edges, about 30 seconds.


Transfer shrimp to its own bowl, cover, and set aside.
Add remaining Tablespoon of oil and garlic to skillet and return to medium heat until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add eggs and ¼ tsp. salt and cook, stirring vigorously until eggs are scrambled, about 20 seconds


Stir soaked noodles into eggs.

Add fish sauce mixture, increase heat to high, and cook, tossing constantly, until noodles are evenly coated. Add ¼ cup of peanuts, bean sprouts, all but ¼ cup of scallions and cooked shrimp.


Continue to cook, tossing constantly, until noodles are tender, about 2 minutes (if not yet tender, add 2 Tablespoons water to skillet and continue to cook until tender). At this point, I tasted the dish and it was missing a little sweetness so I added a touch of Agave Nectar.


Transfer noodles to serving platter and sprinkle with remaining scallions and peanuts. Serve, passing lime wedges and chopped cilantro (a lot… if you love it like I do). Enjoy!


This dish was amazing and the recipe was incredibly simple. I thought that the ingredients would be difficult to find but they weren’t. It was easy to put together, much healthier than any you would find out at restaurant, and extremely tasty!! This recipe is also very versatile; you could substitute tofu, chicken, etc. for the shrimp, leave the protein out all together, add veggies, etc. If you have never had Pad Thai before, this is a great recipe to introduce you to the amazingness that is Pad Thai! 🙂

Thank you for reading!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Guest Post: Shrimp Pad Thai

  1. Pad Thai is a favorite of mine, and I really enjoyed seeing how to make it at home. We are fortunate to have amazing Thai restaurants in our area, but I love the idea of making it myself, knowing all the ingredients and spending less. Thank you!

  2. I love love love pad thai, but I’ve never made it at home. I want to try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

