Wear Red & Eat Nutella

Happy Friday everyone! I dont know about you, but these last few weeks have been flying by and obviously the weekends go back even quicker!

Restaurant Free Challenge

Not going out to eat has definitely presented itself as a challenge the last few days! I thought the hardest part would be turning down invites from friends, but its hard to scrounge up meals & snacks at home when you are running low on groceries & arent able to eat out!

Since we have virtually no fruits or veggies in the house, oatmeal was sans apple, banana, or any other trace of produce. Sometimes oatmeal is so unattractive, yet so tasty.

 

In the oats:

  • 1/3 c oats
  • water
  • brown sugar
  • cashews
  • dried cherries
  • drizzle of maple syrup

I had my first Stats test yesterday (yikes!) and then jetting to work, but first I swung by the co-op since I had no access to fruits or veggies at home. It would of been one of the days that I would of grabbed Pita Pit or something on the way to work, but I had to settle with running in to the grocery store – and I even felt guilty doing so!

Lunch

I had 2 kiwis – are they not one of the most gorgeous fruits? And some famous, local hummus with a WW pita. Twas a filling & satisfying lunch.

While I worked on some blog things I snacked on some dried apricots:

And some Valentines Day Peanut Butter M&Ms x 2:

Swim

After work I jumped in the pool for a swim that consisted of:

  • 200 kick
  • 200 pull
  • 10 X 100’s: Alternating freestyle & choice
  • 100 warm down

I havent talked about it much on the blog yet, but swimming is a huge part of my life. I am a lifeguard, the swim lesson coordinator at our pool, and also recently a USA certified swim coach. I study both Psychology & Leisure Studies  and plan to be an Aquatic Director after graduation. Most recently, I accepted a summer job as Waterfront Director at a summer camp in Pennsylvania.

Many bloggers have specialties in areas like yoga or marathon running – one of my passions is swimming. I have been working on compiling some how-to guides that I can share on the blog. If you have any specific questions in regards to swimming on any level feel free to email me at WhatKateAte@gmail.com and dont forget to keep your eye out for some swim posts that will be up in a few weeks!

Dinner

After working out I rushed home to make a quick and tasty dinner for Matt & I that took minutes & only had 5 ingredients!

Sweet Potato, Chorizo, & Ricotta Penne

  • 1 large sweet potato
  • 1 chorizo sausage (or other spicy sausage)
  • 1/2 c ricotta cheese
  • WW Penne
  • minced garlic

How to: Begin by bringing some water to a boil and add the penne. In a saute pan add some minced garlic and let softened. Cut the casing on the sausage and add the ground meat to the pan.

As the sausage browns remove the skin from a already microwaved sweet potato. Tip: Use the edge of a spoon to scoop off the skin, or cut the potato into circles and gently peel the skin off.

Dice the sweet potato into small, bite-size pieces and add to the pan. Allow ingredients to cook together until pasta is finished. Drain pasta and mix with chorizo & sweet potato mixture. Add salt & pepper to taste and a dollop of Ricotta cheese on top.

The flavors taste so fabulous together especially if you make a mess and mix the Ricotta in with the pasta. YUM!

Dessert

For dessert I had a small bowl of Ricotta that I added some agave nectar to and topped with some chocolate chips. So smooth & sweet!

Aside from February 5th being National Nutella Day it is also National Wear Red Day. I encourage you to enter the giveaway & wear red to support the importance of heart health!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Wear Red & Eat Nutella

  1. I just had a hummus lunch too..but wow..that hummus looks CREAMY.

    The ricotta and chocolate chip dessert sounds heavenly and simple!

  2. okay ive got to try nutella asap! im so left out!

  3. Wow what a post! First, how did the stats test go? I feel you there… i’m suffering right along with you 😉

    And that pasta… I must try that. It sounds incredible. Right now I have about a million recipes that i’ve been wanting to try but that… that is going to the top of the list.

    The hummus looks yummy!!!! And I agree about oats, they can be so unattractive but so darn good 🙂

  4. Hi Kate! I initially stopped at this post for the penne recipe, but had to add that I, too, LOVE eating ricotta that way! Looks like ice cream in your bowl…mmm….

    Love the blog! Will keep checking up 🙂

Leave a Reply

