Semi-back in order

After this weekend, everything feels a little bit more in order. I sprang myself into some huge projects when I came back from Greece: Starting the blog, starting classes, & starting my summer job search. So, needless to say, it was nice to spend some time getting in the hang of my new schedule & spending some quality time with the boys! Ah!

After spending much of the afternoon messing around with the blog & things, I broke for a snack. I toasted a WW sandwich thin and spread some almond butter on each half. One half got some golden raisins, which in my opinion are better than their ‘normal’ cousin & the other have got a generous sprinkling of mini chocolate chips a la Tina.

While I was waiting for my snack to pop out of the toaster, I decided to make some Chocolate & Almond Butter Go Lean Clusters!

I took some mini chocolate chips & a blob of almond butter and threw them in a microwave safe bowl in the micro until they melted together. I mixed up my melted mixture & tossed some Kashi Go Lean Crunch in the bowl, coating them with the chocolatey, almond buttery goodness. I formed ½ into clusters & the other half in a big blob to be broken up once they cooled and put them in the fridge to harden.

Matt says they are boyfriend approved. I had a few crumbs, but held off on a whole one because I had plans for a different dessert 🙂

Dinner

I picked the easiest, laziest route for dinner possible. I grabbed a bag of frozen veggies and added some General Tso’s Sauce from TJs and put it on top of a bed of brown rice that I cooked earlier in the week. Easy. Healthy. Maybe a little processed.

The sauce & veggies:

Trader Joe’s Ode

Do you love Trader Joe’s? I sure do. Aside from living far from my family and the ocean, living 4 hours away from Trader Joe’s is probably the hardest part of living in Iowa. As you can tell I still use a lot of their foods. And here’s why: When I go home I stock up, and when Im even remotely near one [Matt travels a lot for work] we have to stop. I dont feel that deprived, but I wish one was closer. Dont even get me started on Whole Foods!

Dessert, you ask?

The last Dark Chocolate Covered Peppermint Joe Joe until next Christmas!

Yoga Recap

I realized how much I love a good sweat.
I heard a funny yoga joke: A yogi walks into a pizza place. The girl at the register asks “What kind of pizza can I get you?” And the yogi answers: “One with everything.”
And I confirmed my hate for locus pose.

Question: Im planning on doing a guest post for Tina about Nuval. I have a few ideas on what I can post on, but I thought Id ask the people who are going to be reading it! Do you guys want to learn more about the program & how it works? Are you interested in figuring out how some of your fave foods add up? Or are you curious as to what some healthier alternatives to your less healthy purchases may be? Leave me a comment or feel free to email me at WhatKateAte@gmail.com.

As for today I have a huge lineup: work, work, work, meeting, work, yoga, sleep. Hope everyone has a fabulous kick start to their week! See you tomorrow!

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Semi-back in order

  1. Even though that Stir Fry was a really easy meal, it looks so good. We’re supposed to eat leftovers tonight, but maybe I’ll make stir fry instead. 🙂

    I think it would be great if you could write a NuVal post about healthy alternatives. I’d love to know some easy swaps that would be better for me.

  2. I love those steam-in-a-bag veggies 🙂

  3. Tracy & Dustin

    You’re killing me with these chocolate treats…I want them immediately! And your stir-fry looks amaaaazing! A NuVal post about healthy alternatives sounds awesome. I think that it is something that could benefit a lot of people and makes it easier for some to make transitions to healthy eating slowly.

  4. Seriously jealous…we don’t have a Trader Joes! Although I heard rumors that my city (Austin, TX) is on their “come-to” list!

  5. Trader Joe’s never ceases to amaze me. Their sauces are just as good as whoever they imitate, but cheaper, and take reg vegs and makes them edible. Clearly TJ is my bffl

  6. frogsandmen

    wow what a cute idea. i miss kashi go lean when i’m in france…
    -The Paris Food Blague

  7. I work less than five minutes away from a TJ’s and stock up EVERY time I go! That General Tso’s sauce is a staple of my pantry. Between that, the chicken sausages and the boxed low sodium soups, there’s no room for anything else!

    • i love their chicken sausages! when i go home to massachusetts for xmas i make a ton of meals with sausages in them! so good. there is another company that i like too..i cant think of the name right now but they are reasonably priced, natural, and have such yummy ingredients in them – plus i can get them in iowa!

  8. Oh I looove stir frys.. and the sandwich thins with pb and chocolate chips.. yum!! And I agree, golden raisins rock!
    And those kashi golean clusters… OMG! You are a genius! I have to make those.
    I have a Whole Foods fairly close but no TJ’s.. sadly…

    And as for the NuVal, I would be curious as to some healthy alternatives.

  9. weightwatchersforone

    Those almond butter clusters look right up my alley. I have been looking to make some treats that involve AB + chocolate 🙂

    Those Joe Joe’s look so good.. I’ll have to be on the lookout for them next Christmas!! haha

  10. kristen

    trader joes trip soooooooon?

  11. GREAT post, great blog! thx for finding me too!

    the choc treats from TJS
    the General Tso’s sauce
    the choco clusters you made….

    ALL AWESOME!! 🙂

  12. I’m also very disappointed we don’t have a TJ’s in Iowa. How can we get that franchise to put one up here????

  13. Megan

    Hahah I just had those steam in a bag veggies tonight!! So good and so convenient! Those chocolate clusters look amaaazing by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

