Bad Blogger

So I think Ive figured out my blogging schedule. Im going to be blogging each day about the previous days eats. Well see how that goes for now. Trial and error, right?

Back to yesterday!

When I got home from class I was starving so I grabbed the quickest, most balanced meal I could find.Considering I left our fridge and pantry to a frozen meal eating, cereal munching machine for 3 weeks, Im lucky I could fix anything somewhat nutritionally sound!

I toasted up a honey wheat bagel and smeared some Light Laughing Cow Herb & Garlic on one side and some strawberry preserves on the other.

I came across this jar in my parents fridge over Christmas Break, and naturally I took it home because it was that tasty!

Once my tummy was sufficiently full, I headed off to the grocery store. There wasnt a fruit or veggie in the whole house…but I needed something in there especially since I was going to get groceries! Hungry stomaches=impulse buys!

The goods:

  • Mixed Salad
  • Romaine [in a bag, head]
  • Zucchini
  • Red Pepper
  • Tomato
  • Jalapeno
  • Baby Red Potatoes
  • Cilantro

  • 3 WW Boboli Thin Crusts [on mega sale!]
  • 3 boxes of WW Barilla pasta [also on sale]
  • 5 vanilla/plain soy milk [sale, again!]
  • WW sandwich thins
  • Plain bagels

And things I forgot photograph until they were already away:

  • Dry black beans
  • Brown rice
  • Quaker bars for Matt
  • Frozen veggies & brown rice [SALE]

Fruit Bowl:

  • Oranges
  • Pears
  • Bananas
  • Avocado
  • Red Onion

I dont know how the Red Onion got in the fruit bowl!

The cold stuff…

  • Strawberry Greek Yogurt [Sale]
  • Fresh Rosemary
  • Sliced Provolone & Pepperjack [Sale]
  • Chicken Breast
  • Turkey Pepperoni
  • Clams

And because Ollie has been DYING for me to a. take his picture b. get into all the groceries and c. be on the blog:

In all we spent just under 88 dollars. Thats a little bit high for us, but considering we were really out of a lot of staples, and we got a ton of ‘on sale’ things that we usually use Id say we did decent.

How much do you think is a reasonable number to spend on two people per week for grocries?

I had us trying to stay under $50 a week but we were going over, so I revised our plan. Now we usually have a more expensive week [see this week!] and a cheaper one under $40. I think its a small price to pay when you consider we generally eat out only once a week and try to ‘vote with our dollar’.

All of those groceries correlate with the meal plan I made for this week:

  • Rosemary and potato pizza with side salads
  • Veggie stirfry
  • Fiesta salad bowls
  • Brown rice and beans
  • Linguine with clam sauce

I find we save money when I plan out our meals for the week, and we try to stick to it the best we can. We usually have some simple meals like pasta or stirfry and then more complicated ones for when we have more time and can spare the effort.

Dinnerrrr

We were going to have a friend over for Fiesta Bowls for dinner, but on a whim decided to go out for Mexican instead. Although Matt, the gadget doctor that he is, had fixed my camera I left it at home and the flash on my phone was not allowing me to take a single decent photo. So a recap of dinner in a few words:

We went to a Midwest American-Mex chain of sorts called Carlos O’Kellys. Obviously we enjoyed our share of chips, queso, and salsa. Is it really Mexican without the trio? I passed on the Margaritas, even though they were $1.99 each!

For my meal I ordered the Fiesta Chicken Salad, which happens to be in my Top 10 Favorite Salads of All Time category. A top a bed of romaine the salad has pickled black beans and cabbage and grilled chicken. I asked for no cheese and no crispy wonton strips and fresh salsa as dressing. So good!

So, for my first actually dinner on the blog I went out to eat and I forgot my camera…Im two for two!

Hope tomorrow is better!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

