2 out of 3

Wednesday mornings I work at 5:45 am, so I got up bright and early and served myself a warm bowl of oats.

  • 1/2 c oats
  • 1 c water
  • banana [1/2 cooked in, 1/2 on top]
  • brown sugar
  • cinnamon
  • almond butter

Close up of the melty almond butter goodness:

I missed my almond butter while I was gone! What kind of nut butter do you dig? Almond? Peanut? Sunflower?

I started to get hungry at work for a snack. Tuesday was a weird day for me in that I didnt have a single snack. Generally Im a breakfast-snack-lunch-snack-dinner-dessert kind of girl. I broke into a juicy red anjou pear:

After it took me about 30 minutes to free my car from 1/4-1/2 a quarter of ice I made it home for lunch. Seriously, this is what I was dealing with:

By the time I made it home I was seriously hungry. So I threw together some His and Her’s salads consisting of:

  • Salad mix
  • Red onion
  • Zucchini
  • Provolone
  • Turkey Pepperoni

With a splash of my favorite dressing:

/

I know a lot people favor Annie’s but I havent actually found an Annie’s Dressing that I am head over heels with. I am, however, a huge fan of Ken’s & Paul Newman’s. Annie’s lovers: What kind should I get out and try? I want to be a believer!

As a little end of meal treat I sampled some of the Belgian chocolates I got in Brussels:

Speculoos is a “spiced milk chocolate with crumbs of cinnamon cookie, a delicious Belgian specialty.” The Bresilienne which may be my favorite is “a crunchy snack with caramelised pieces of hazelnut.”

For snack I munched on an orange & a Berry La Croix.

After reading Kristin’s blog the other night, I new I need to add Panchero’s Bowls to our meal list.  We got to work in the kitchen preparing cilantro-lime rice, corn salsa and  grilled chicken for our salad beasts.

For the rice, I precooked some brown rice on Tuesday night so I added the rice in with some minced garlic, some lime juice, and a few handfuls of chopped cilantro and presto:

 

For the corn salsa I pulled up a random recipe to use as my guide.

My recipe:

  • 1 can corn [rinsed, drained]
  • 1 jalapeno [diced, deseeded]
  • 1/3 c red onion [diced]
  • 1/3 c cilantro [chopped]
  • lime juice to taste

I didnt meaure precisely the onion or cilantro, but these are the estimates. I dont think it needed salt, and Ive never had corn salsa with red pepper in it so I skipped it. Matt said it was man approved!

Note: Next time Ill definitely use fresh corn. I did think rinsing the corn helped, but it still had that canned taste.

We cooked up some chicken, using an array of spices:

End result: Some seriously juicy chicken.

All we had to do was assemble our Salad Bowls.

  • Bed of Romaine
  • Cilantro-lime rice
  • Corn salsa
  • Black beans
  • Hot sauce

I did forget to make guac, but honestly my taste buds werent missing it! 2 salads out of 3 meals aint bad! I didnt have a 7:30 yoga class planned, but it was cancelled due to the ice storm. Instead of popping in a work out dvd we cozied up and watched District 9. Thoughts on D9? I had heard it was the best movie of the year, and although I can agree on that it was still a pretty good movie.

Tomorrows a packed day:

  • Blog
  • Class
  • Work
  • Hot Yoga
  • Another yummy dinner

See ya!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “2 out of 3

  1. Tracy & Dustin

    Do you have Brianna’s dressing there? If you do, you should try “The New American”. It’s a balsamic vinaigrette-like one…SO GOOD! They’re my fave organic dressing. I also have Annie’s Raspberry vinaigrette right now, which you might like. BTW, I DO NOT miss icy windows and having to defrost my car. Move to Austin. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the comment.
    I’ve never tried any of those dressings and have started making my own now.

  3. Gahhh, poor you having to deal with that icy windshield!

    But your meal looks great. 🙂

  4. Thanks for stopping by the ol’ blog! I’ve only tried two Annie’s and Goddess is amazing but the Cowgirl Ranch was kind of gross I thought. I look forward to reading more! 🙂

  5. lessonstolearn

    Hi Kate! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    What a beautiful salad! I don’t have much dressing advise to offer. I actually use hummus and/or salsa a lot as dressings.

    Glad you managed to chip your car out of the ice! The ice so much worse than snow. Fluffy snow, you can brush off. Icy snow…you can be out there forever with the engine running!

  6. Hi Kate! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

    I look forward to reading more of yours!

    You hooked me in right away with your Greece and Italy photos….one is reminding me so much of my visit to Capri, Italy several years ago.

    Have a great weekend!

  7. DiningAndDishing

    I love that brand of chocolate! Belgians make the best chocolate ever 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

Leave a Reply

